01. No Horizons
02. Monuments
03. Two Wars
04. We Are Debt
05. Geist
06. Architeuthis
07. The Polymath
08. Memento Mori
09. Mauna Kea
10. Elegiac

RATING: 7/10

I'm usually lukewarm about tech-y metalcore albums and lord knows there has been an avalanche of them the past few years. But Lancaster, Pennsylvania's THIS OR THE APOCALYPSE kept my interest long enough to realize that they've harnessed a convincing sound and may be sailing on to bigger and better efforts. If nothing else, "Monuments" is a tough little sucker that is anything but subtle.

That toughness comes mainly from the band's philosophy of musical execution (dubbed "Thinking Man's Mosh"), which would seem to involve three primary elements: Attack, attack, and then attack some more. Save for ethereal piece "Memento Mori", every song on the album flows like a Gatling gun. The fast paced tunes are usually propelled by angular time signatures (ala MESHUGGAH) and staccato drumming with stabbing riffs and the bark of vocalist Ricky Armellino. The production of Carson Slovak (CENTURY) is a primary reason for the album's in-your-face sound; he's done a great job with the taut and punchy drum sound and making those precision riffs jut out. Slovak is also responsible for the fantastic, politically charged artwork.

This is not to imply that the songs are not without melody, but those melodies are derived from the guitar harmonizing, rather than any kind of recognizable hooks or tuneful vocal patterns. The album is listenable because of the way the songs are arranged, but that does not mean that most will easily identify individual tracks, which is the only real issue with the disc; not a major issue, mind you, but an issue nevertheless.

With a songwriting style that is more unconventional than technically overdone, yet rife with floating melodies, fans of bands like MISERY SIGNALS and SHAI HALUD will no doubt dig it. "Monuments" hits like a ton of bricks and is possessed of a certain power that keeps it from becoming too monotonous. Not recommended for the meditative listener.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).