01. Intro
02. Soil Of Sin
03. Headhunter
04. No One Hears
05. The Face Of Betrayal
06. As Fire
07. The Shining Delight
08. An Eternal Belief
09. Morbeea
10. Redimus
11. Choose Misanthropy
12. Overriding Imagination

RATING: 2/10

You should never judge a book by its cover, of course. Neither then, should you judge a band like HECATE ENTHRONED by the intricacy of their album cover art, which depicts angels and demons sparring mightily in the heavens above a sleepy countryside scene. As a piece of gloomy illustrative work, this is pretty impressive as the one-time heirs elect to the British black metal throne occupied by CRADLE OF FILTH (who once featured former HECATE ENTHRONED member Jon, incidentally), HECATE ENTHRONED are anything but impressive.

Think back to a time when the corpse paint was as thick as it is now, but none of the black metal fraternity really knew their way around their instruments. This is where "Redimus" fits right in with all its clumsy, over-ambitious, poorly executed methodology. As an album, it doesn't really warrant the intro of spooky ambience (helpfully titled "Intro") because there's nothing of any substance to build up to. "Soil Of Sin"? A collision of predictable one-fingered keyboard stabs and generic guitars. Sinful, indeed. And as soiled as a public bathroom during a dysentery outbreak. "No One Hears"? You really shouldn't really have to, but check out the disastrous drumming anyway. It's hard to choose between that and the rest of the band for who comes up with the worst performance.

Satan enthusiasts — like many advocates of religious practices to this particular reviewer — were always prone to bullshitting anyhow, but to state, as the HECATE ENTHRONED publicity blurb does, that "Redimus" possesses "a massive guitar and drum sound" must be one of the greatest lies ever told. OK, so there's some instrumental separation here, but that's nothing to shout about when the general sound is barely big enough to tickle you gently. Where's the ominous crescendo of sound that should lead the acoustic intro into bellowing guitars on "As Fire"? Is a volley of symphonic bombast here and there too much to ask for? What exactly has producer Phil Green (?) been paid for?

Ultimately, "Redimus" must go down as one of the least threatening black metal albums of all time. Say what you like about CRADLE OF FILTH, but at least they know how to make an occasion of their albums. If Dani Filth hears this, he'll be pissing his spiky little codpiece with laughter.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).