"Sweet Talk Intervention"


01. Constant Denier
02. Go Ahead
03. Don't You Give Me
04. I'm Just a Man
05. Stone Rose
06. Backslider
07. Made to Love
08. Radio
09. One Trick Pony
10. Nevermind

RATING: 8/10

There's something a mite distressing coming to a band of young bucks in 2014 strutting the Eighties American hard rock look that's on the borderline of glam. The image is barely in-style these days, if bordering on tacky-retro, thus the temptation to bite thumbs is great, if fogyish.

MACH-22 looks L.A. and they sound L.A., so much they won Guitar Center's "Onstage With Slash" contest over three thousand entrants. The thirty gees MACH-22 scored in that battle of the bands was obviously sunk into the production of their debut album, "Sweet Talk Intervention", because it sounds as pro as could be expected for a new group. Better, MACH-22 includes the progeny of CINDERELLA's Jeff LaBar, Sebastian, which offers extra buzz for their press junket.

It's no fluke these guys were handpicked by Slash himself. "Sweet Talk Intervention" is super-tight and stocked with the ingredients for success: popping rhythms, humming bass drives, sticky guitar riffs and an energetic vocalist who exhibits a solid combination of street sense and a soulful command over his delivery.

While the album is half-filled with pumping rock blasts like "Constant Denier", "Go Ahead", "I'm Just a Man", "Backslider" and "Nevermind", the rest of "Sweet Talk Intervention" takes an easy ride with mid-tempo kicks like "Radio" and the southern rock swing of "Stone Rose". AC/DC figures plenty into "Go Ahead" and "Don't You Give Me", while there's a slight air of KING'S X about "Stone Rose", "Nevermind" and "Made to Love". Otherwise, MACH-22 is reminiscent of BLACK 'N BLUE, SMASHED GLADYS and other blues metal crews that haunted the City of Angels back in the day.

Sebastian LaBar, along with second guitarist Ted Merrill, have plenty of hooks to rev up "Sweet Talk Intervention" with, while Jaron Gulino's bass plugs give MACH-22 much of their thrust. Drummer Damian MonteCarlo has a great touch and a knack for headstrong beats, while Lamont Caldwell leads this band with spangled confidence.

As a band, these guys possess rock 'n roll smarts treading toward the sleazy sound of Sunset without getting ankle-deep dirty. Instead, MACH-22 has a classy method that sits well, no matter if you were there back in the day or if you're chasing the ghosts of the Troubadour.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).