"The Forever Endeavor"


01. Tales Of Bitterness
02. The Forever Endeavor
03. A Break From Tradition
04. Vertigo Equilibrium
05. Dead Night, Dead Light
06. Cloaked In Need
07. The Acting Parts
08. Poison Me
09. Redemption
10. All For Nothing

RATING: 6.5/10

These days it's getting harder to distinguish between what is, in essence, pure heavy metal and the melodic end of death metal/extreme metal/whatever hook you want to hang it on. Which, in the name of progression, can only be positive for those in the latter categories like Chicago's ENFORSAKEN.

However, if it's "songs" you're looking for — and the majority of people most likely are — then a solid JUDAS PRIEST album — as opposed to the melodic mish-mash that shoots relentlessly from the DARK TRANQUILITY-esque grooves of "The Forever Endeavor" — will always be the clincher for assured craft, catchiness and the ability to work out the old neck muscles.

While it's not entirely fair to pass off a debut album against thirty years of hardened experience, "The Forever Endeavor" is one that, from the sounds of the big riff pile-ups that are "Tales Of Bitterness" and "Dead Night, Dead Light", could've profited from a bit more trimming and condensing of ideas. Certainly, within both songs, riffs are smooth-flowing, solos sweet to every last finger-fret and everything runs with military precision — but there's simply too much of it bereft of the "wow" factor, and if you didn't bother to watch the track display on your stereo, you'd be hard pushed to tell where one of these tracks ends and a different one starts. After all, if DREAM THEATER can make things stick in the conscience with every chord progression known to man, then you expect a bit more from those working with less.

It's ironic to see that Niklas Sundin from DARK TRANQUILLITY (themselves hard to persevere with after a short listening period) has yet again stepped in with his art set for the cover because much of the mid-paced material such as "Cloaked in Need" is, as mentioned, reminiscent of the Gothenburg mood metallers — think single-minded gruff vocals over twee, overwrought guitar lines.

Far more instant are the moments when the band throw caution — and a few blast beats — to the wind on "Poison Me" — the frantic, slightly less complex side of ENFORSAKEN that, ironically, the band probably won't lean too heavily on as they evolve further.

When you prize apart the tangled web of ideas, there is a band with great potential underneath. And therefore, it's one of the few times when it can truly be said that a very open, clear, mud-free production can give you just way more than you really need.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).