"World Wide Death"

(Threeman Recordings)

01. Legions of Darkness
02. A Gush of Blood
03. Headless Nun Whore
04. Wretched Hatching
05. Chainsawed Christians
06. Purified in Carnage
07. Uprising of the Rotten
08. Severe Facial Reconstruction
09. Uhr-Nazuur

RATING: 2/10

There's a thin line between paying intuitive homage to the classic sounds of yesteryear and churning out a load of old dross way past its sell-by date. GOD AMONG INSECTS have most certainly landed in the latter camp with an unceremonious thump, and could do well to remember that you can smother everything as much distortion as you can muster — the smell of regurgitated trash will always seep through.

For this is what the Scandinavian supergroup have attempted to do by tuning their guitar strings down so loose that the slightest gust of wind would actually tear them away from the necks. Certainly, people such as Emperor Magus Caligula (he of DARK FUNERAL and frontman here) and Tobben Gustafsson (drums in VOMITORY and here also) should know better than to shove a mess of third-hand AUTOPSY moments on the death metal hordes. All that can really be said about something like "Purified In Carnage" is that it's riffs and arrangements were evidently bundled together in less time than it takes to heat and eat a microwave meal. You're left wondering whether it's actually one big joke because if this track wasn't meant to be, then "Wretched Hatching" is, intentionally or otherwise, comedy moment of the year so far: it is laughably ludicrous how such throwaway stuff ever made it to CD beyond 1991. Only "Uhr-Nazuur" comes through initially with some blastbeat-driven rage, only to wind the album down with a labouring sloth of a riff that makes BOLT THROWER sound like masters of fretboard invention. Bad. Very bad. And those titles: "Headless Nun Whore", "Chainsawed Christians", "Severe Facial Reconstruction". In a word, yawn.

The real travesty is that with the thirst for all things old school, and this being recorded with Tommy Tägtgren at the credible Abyss studios, "World Wide Death" might shift a few copies. Don't be fooled though — this is a cynical, easy option of an album that doesn't even deserve space in the bargain bins.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).