ABSU: North American Release Date Announced For Two-CD/LP Anthology Of Rarities

July 29, 2005

The End Records has set an October 11 North American release date for a new double CD/LP anthology from Texan occult metallers ABSU, entitled "Mythological Occult Metal: 1991-2001". The collection of songs, compiled by Equitant and remastered by Proscriptor, will feature tracks recorded by the band never featured on any of ABSU's five official releases. "This is not a posthumous 'best of' or 'greatest hits' release, but a compilation of songs many ABSU followers were never able to get their hands on," Proscriptor said in a statement.

The track listing for the collection is as follows:

Disc One:

01. The Gold Torques of Uláid (taken from "Gummo: Music from the Motion Picture" soundtrack)
02. Never Blow Out the Eastern Candle (taken from "World Domination" compilation)
03. Stone of Destiny (taken from "Tara" album ("Hall of the Masters" alternate version)
04. Immortal Sorcery (taken from "The Temples of Offal" 7" EP)
05. Sumerian Sands (The Silence) (taken from "The Temples of Offal" 7" EP)
06. Disembodied (taken from "The Temples of Offal" 7" EP)
07. …And Shineth unto the Cold Cometh… including Prelusion to Cythrául (taken from "…And Shineth Unto the Cold Cometh…" 7" EP)
08. Akhera Goiti – Akhera Beiti (One Black Opalith for Tomorrow) (taken from "…And Shineth Unto the Cold Cometh…" 7" EP)
09. Reliquiae Celticae (taken from "Hallstattian Swords" 7" EP)
10. The Great Battle Moving From Ideal to Actual (taken from "Hallstattian Swords" 7" EP)
11. Old Tombs at Hochdorf (taken from "Hallstattian Swords" 7" EP)

Disc Two:

01. Deathcrush including Silvester Angfang (taken from "Originators of the Northern Darkness: A Tribute to Mayhem" compilation)
02. Swing of the Axe (taken from "Seven Gates of Horror: A Tribute to Possessed" compilation)
03. Transylvania (taken from "A Call to Irons: A Tribute to Iron Maiden" compilation)
04. Bestial Invasion (recorded live at Universal Rehearsal: Studio A – Dallas, Texas – May 10, 1996) (unreleased)
05. The Winter Zephyr (…Within Kingdoms of Mist) (recorded Live at Le Bikini – Toulouse, France – April 28, 1997) (unreleased)
06. Highland Tyrant Attack (recorded live at Le Bikini – Toulouse, France – April 28, 1997) (unreleased)
07. The Thrice is Greatest to Ninnigal (recorded live at Poison Apple – Torino, Italy – April 29, 1995) (unreleased)
08. The Coming of War (recorded live at Zeche Carl – Essen, Germany – April 26, 1995) (unreleased)
09. Book of Splendour (recorded Live at the Place – Dallas, Texas – October 31, 1993) (unreleased)
10. Tasseomancy (recorded Live at the Place – Dallas, Texas – October 31, 1993) (unreleased)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).