AEROSMITH Guitarist Makes Surprise Appearance With N.Y.C. HITSQUAD

January 20, 2005

Launch Radio Networks is reporting that AEROSMITH guitarist Brad Whitford was a surprise guest last night (Wednesday, January 19) in New York City with the N.Y.C. HITSQUAD, which includes singer-guitarist Ricky Byrd from JOAN JETT & THE BLACKHEARTS, drummer Liberty Devitto and sax player Richie Cannata from Billy Joel's band, and ex-DEEP PURPLE and RAINBOW singer Joe Lynn Turner, among others. Whitford and Southside Johnny joined the band for versions of CHUCK BERRY's "Little Queenie", LITTLE RICHARD's "Keep A Knockin'" — which featured a slight detour into the JEFF BECK GROUP's version of the blues standard "Going Down" — and the show closer of WILSON PICKETT's "634-5789 (Soulsville, U.S.A.)".

The N.Y.C. HITSQUAD, which gets together for fun when the members have some free time, also played soul and rock standards including "Can't Get Next To You", "My Girl", "Route 66", "C.C. Rider", and "I Wish It Would Rain".

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email