AETERNUS To Release 'Heathen' Album In October

August 11, 2018

Norwegian metallers AETERNUS will release their eighth full-length album, "Heathen", on October 12 via Dark Essence Records.

The first track from the disc, "The Sword of Retribution", can be heard below.

"Heathen", which will mark the band's 25th Anniversary, is all that you would expect from AETERNUS, which was founded in Bergen by guitarist and frontman Ares, and is one of the pioneers of the so-called "dark metal" genre. The seven-track album is packed full of AETERNUS's trademark sound, which combines features from both black metal and death metal. The complex extreme music is spiced with heavy riffs and melodic interludes, performed to perfection by vastly experienced, and extremely skilled, musicians.

With artwork by Tom Korsvold and photography by Ares, track listing for "Heathen" is as follows:

01. Hedning
02. The Sword Of Retribution
03. Conjuring Of The Gentiles
04. The Significance Of Iblis
05. How Opaque The Disguise Of The Adversary
06. Boudica
07. Illa Mayyit

Aside from Ares, AETERNUS's lineup features Phobos (GRAVDAL, GORGOROTH live) on drums and KRAKOW's Eld on bass. Live guitar duties have been taken up by Gorm (THYRUZ).

AETERNUS will accompany TAAKE on their South American tour in September.

Find more on Aeternus
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).