AIRFORCE Feat. Former IRON MAIDEN Drummer DOUG SAMPSON: New Album Coming Soon

June 10, 2021

ROAR! Rock Of Angels has announced the signing of AIRFORCE to a multi-album deal.

The history of AIRFORCE goes back over 40 years ago to 1979, to an East London-based band called EL-34 in which Chop Pitman and Tony Hatton played together first, and were able to gain ample live experiences with exciting gigs in legendary venues like the Marquee club, Ruskin Arms and Cart & Horses. After several years playing mostly London metal shows, the singer and drummer departed in 1986, leaving Chop and Tony looking for replacements. Chop's very good longtime friend, IRON MAIDEN mastermind Steve Harris, suggested his former drummer Doug Sampson, well known to all metal fans from IRON MAIDEN's first legendary studio recordings "Soundhouse Tapes". Steve arranged some studio time for himself, Chop, and Doug to have a rehearsal jam session together, and a slice of NWOBHM history was made: AIRFORCE was born.

But times were not easy. For a stable lineup, a permanent singer was missing and the band was unfortunately unable to find one in the first eleven years of its existence before they broke up.

Pitman initially continued the band name AIRFORCE live and with various musicians. The first AIRFORCE album was released in 2016 with "Judgment Day", a kind-of compilation that aroused renewed interest in the band. That was the starting shot for Chop to reunite the old band members Sampson and Hatton. In 2019, Flavio Lino joined AIRFORCE as the new frontman, the right man at the microphone having finnaly taken his his place.

AIRFORCE is currently working on a new live longplayer, to be released later this year, as well as on its eagerly awaited third full-length album.

MAIDEN's first demo recording, "Soundhouse Tapes", featured Sampson, Harris, singer Paul Di'Anno and guitarist Dave Murray. It eventually landed MAIDEN a record deal with EMI in 1980. The band's self-titled debut album brought about a new lineup with the addition of Clive Burr to replace Sampson and Dennis Stratton on guitar.


Flavio Lino - Vocals
Chop Pitman - Lead Guitar
Tony Hatton - Bass
Doug Sampson - Drums

Find more on Airforce
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).