ALBERT BOUCHARD Releases Music Video For 'Blue Oyster Cult' From 'Re Imaginos' Album

November 5, 2020

Albert Bouchard, who is best known as a founding member of BLUE ÖYSTER CULT, will release "Re Imaginos" on November 6 through he and his brother's (Joe Bouchard) new imprint label, RockHeart Records/Deko Entertainment (ADA/Warner Music Group). The album is Albert's reimagining of the 1988 BLUE ÖYSTER CULT LP "Imaginos", which was originally intended as Albert's solo album. As Albert explains: "Most BOC fans know at this point that 'Imaginos' was supposed to be my solo album. Some people think it's the best BOC album, others think it's not a 'true' BOC album. In either case, they're right. I made this new album for them so that they can hear a more properly realized version of the tale."

The official video for the album's second single, "Blue Oyster Cult", can be seen below.

Albert says: "'Blue Oyster Cult' was a poem that Sandy Pearlman wrote in the late '60s. When BLUE ÖYSTER CULT was finalizing our recording contract with Columbia Records, we took the poem as our band name. Eric Bloom put Sandy's poem to music on our third album, 'Secret Treaties'. This version is different from that but very similar to the version I created for the original 'Imaginos' album in 1988. It tells the story of a sailor who has been put ashore and is discovered by the Blue Öyster Cult, non-human beings who nurse 'Imaginos' back to health and give him a mission to find the mysterious black mirror, hidden deep in the jungles of the Yucatan peninsula."

The original BLUE ÖYSTER CULT lineup sold millions of albums for Columbia Records, with such classic songs as "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" and the #1 hit on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart "Burning For You".

"Black Telescope" is the first single and video and tells the story of an undead creature that takes the form of a fish and now uses alchemy to rule the solar system. This being sees with the power of the mind and does not need eyes. It was more ordinary and needed the help of technology to rule the world in the past, at a time when it was in the shape of a human sailor and knew the dangers of the deep. When the sailor went to the telescope workshop, he experienced a strange rebirth and became an all-powerful force.

Also to celebrate the launch of RockHeart Records and the release of "Re Imaginos", the Bouchard brothers are offering a limited amount of the official RockHeart Records cowbell autographed personally by both Joe and Albert.

Albert's infamous cowbell part in "(Don't Fear) The Reaper" was the basis of the classic Will Ferrell skit on "SNL", which also starred Christopher Walken. With "The Reaper", an all-time classic on YouTube and every other digital platform, with zillions of views, the Bouchard brothers are forever cemented in pop culture.

"Re Imaginos" track listing:

01. I Am The One You Warned Me Of
02. Del Rio Song
03. In The Presence Of Another World
04. Siege And Investiture Of Baron Von Frankenstein's Castle At Weisseria
05. Girl That Love Made Blind
06. Astronomy
07. Imaginos
08. Gil Blanco County
09. Blue Oyster Cult
10. Black Telescope
11. Magna of Illusion
12. Les Invisibles

Find more on Blue oyster cult
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).