ANACRUSIS' KENN NARDI Releases 'Dancing With The Past' Audio Samples

ANACRUSIS' KENN NARDI Releases 'Dancing With The Past' Audio Samples

Audio samples of 14 of the songs songs that will appear on "Dancing With The Past", the forthcoming album from vocalist/guitarist Kenn Nardi of St. Louis, Missouri-based progressive/melodic thrash metallers ANACRUSIS, can be streamed below.

"I haven't decided whether to release it as ANACRUSIS or just a solo project," Nardi told Heavy Skull in a recent interview. "The music was all written with the intention of being ANACRUSIS, but I am playing everything myself aside from a handful of songs that John [Emery, bass] had already recorded the bass parts on.

"The idea was to track everything against programmed drum parts, so I could begin the process without having to record all of the drums first. Then we would go back and have Mike [Owen, drums] play the drums and replace them that way. We just never got far with them learning their parts and were not getting anything accomplished while I was still writing and tracking new songs. With so much new material, it would take forever with our current schedules to finish it, and I really wasn’t sure if John and Mike were really into doing it at all. Eventually, I just decided to do it all myself. Maybe this isn't the best way, but I did want to finish it and I am very happy with the results. I am also much happier to do what I want without having to get agreement from the other guys. Maybe they didn't like the direction I was headed musically. I don't know, but I am very excited about these new songs and I think this will be a metal album like none that has ever been done (or at least that I've ever heard)."

He added in an online posting: "Eliran Kantor is once again working on the cover art and I am also excited to see what 'face' he will give this album.

"As I said before, there will be be 28 songs, including one instrumental, and will range from mid-tempo 'classic' metal to thrash to doom along with some more mellow stuff, lots and lots of melody and even a brand new version of 'A Little Light' from my CRUEL APRIL project.

"Some of the songs originally reach back as far as 1994, shortly after the breakup of ANACRUSIS, some were written several years ago, some during our 2009-2013 reunion and others in recent weeks, so it will really represent 20 years of musical creativity that I have attempted to pull together into one cohesive collection of songs.

"The running time of the album will be approximately 2 hours and 40 minutes. That's just about as much music as can be crammed onto two CDs. It would also be great to do a vinyl version, but I'm afraid it would have to be a box-set just to fit everything in."

According to Sputnik Music, "Dancing With The Past" will feature the following track listing:

Disc one:

01. Unnecessary Evil
02. Fragile
03. Made
04. Armies Of One
05. Dead Letters
06. Submerged
07. Lament In Rust (instrumental)
08. [Not yet titled]
09. This Killer In My House
10. Await The Setting Sun
11. Untouchable
12. Stabbing Sorrow
13. The Dark And The Light
14. The Scarlet Letter

Disc two:

01. Spitting Bitter
02. Ordinary
03. Dancing With The Past
04. One World
05. Creve Coeur (A Place Called Broken Heart)
06. A Little Light
07. Blood In The Water
08. Dead Men's Bones
09. The Telling Skies
10. Climbing
11. Blinding Lies
12. Symbiotic
13. Beside Myself
14. The Runt

ANACRUSIS in 2010 spent time in the studio recording a "new" album entitled "Hindsight: Suffering Hour & Reason Revisited". The two-CD set featured both ANACRUSIS' debut album, "Suffering Hour", and its second release, "Reason", along with the classic ANACRUSIS demo track "Apocalypse", all fully re-recorded by the original lineup of Nardi, Kevin Heidbreder, John Emery and Mike Owen. The package also featured a 24-page, full-color booklet with lyrics and lots of photos both old and new. The cover art was created by Eliran Kantor (TESTAMENT, SIGH, MEKONG DELTA, GWAR).

In 2009, Stormspell Records released the CD/DVD compilation, "Annihilation Complete: The Early Years Anthology", which featured ANACRUSIS' demo and video footage of Nardi's pre-ANACRUSIS band, HEAVEN'S FLAME.

Audio samples part one:

Audio samples part two:


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).