ANATHEMA To Release 'A Sort Of Homecoming' Blu-Ray, 2CD + DVD-V, LP And Digital Download

ANATHEMA To Release 'A Sort Of Homecoming' Blu-Ray, 2CD + DVD-V, LP And Digital Download

ANATHEMA, one of the U.K.'s most cherished and critically acclaimed rock bands, will release a live Blu-ray/audio collection titled "A Sort Of Homecoming" on October 30 via Kscope. Directed by Lasse Hoile (Steven Wilson, KATATONIA, OPETH), "A Sort Of Homecoming" is a stunning concert film of ANATHEMA's homecoming show on March 7, 2015 in the spectacular setting of the Liverpool Cathedral. The concert was described by Prog magazine as "a once-in-a-lifetime experience that words can barely do justice."

"I'm really happy that this night in particular has been preserved," commented ANATHEMA guitarist/vocalist Vincent Cavanagh. "As anyone from Liverpool will tell you, to be given the chance to play the Anglican Cathedral is monumental and a huge honor. The place is absolutely huge. Just look at the cover, it was like doing a gig in Erebor!"

Having previously worked with ANATHEMA on the acclaimed "Universal" concert film, Lasse Hoile captured the 100-minute acoustic set in high definition against the sensational backdrop of Liverpool Cathedral. Featuring 15 songs selected from the albums "Distant Satellites", "Weather Systems", "We're Here Because We're Here", "A Natural Disaster" and "Alternative 4", the "Anathema Acoustic" trio of Daniel Cavanagh, Vincent Cavanagh and Lee Douglas were joined by rhythm section John Douglas and Jamie Cavanagh, alongside their very talented close friend David Wesling on cello who also played on "Hindsight" (2009) and "A Moment In Time" (2006). For this exclusive performance, the band was also joined by the renowned violinist Anna Phoebe on a haunting rendition of "Anathema". The audio has been produced and mixed by Christer-André Cederberg who worked on "Distant Satellites", "Universal" and "Weather Systems", with the cover and booklet artwork featuring the stunning photography from the show and behind the scenes by longtime collaborator Caroline Traitler. This is the first ANATHEMA live release to feature a 5.1 audio mix, engineered by Bruce Soord.

Watch the concert trailer below.

Kscope will release "A Sort of Homecoming" as:

* Four-disc box set: 2-CD concert audio (100 mins), DVD with full concert plus an additional behind-the-scenes film "A Temporary Peace" and concert on Blu-ray disc. In a deluxe rigid media book with 36-page booklet, presented in a slipcase

- 2CD + DVD-V: The set features the full 100-minute audio and DVD-V of the concert with 5.1 audio mixed by THE PINEAPPLE THIEF's Bruce Soord

- Blu-ray disc: The full 100-minute concert plus an additional behind-the-scenes film "A Temporary Peace" with 5.1 audio mixed by THE PINEAPPLE THIEF's Bruce Soord

LP: A gatefold triple 180g black vinyl LP including MP3 download code

Digital: Concert audio only

All formats, excluding digital download, are available to pre-order via the Kscope webstore at

"A Sort of Homecoming" track listing:

01. The Lost Song Part 2
02. Untouchable Part 1
03. Untouchable Part 2
04. Thin Air
05. Dreaming Light
06. Anathema
07. Ariel
08. Electricity
09. Temporary Peace
10. The Beginning And The End
11. Distant Satellites
12. Take Shelter
13. Internal Landscapes
14. A Natural Disaster
15. Fragile Dreams



To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).