ANTAGONIST: New Album Artwork, Release Date Revealed

June 30, 2010

Southern California's ANTAGONIST will release its new full-length album, "World In Decline", on August 17 via Prosthetic Records. The CD was recorded at Buzzbomb Studios in Orange, California with producer Paul Miner (TERROR, THRICE, THROWDOWN) and it features guest vocal appearances by ARSONISTS GET ALL THE GIRLS' Jared Monette and John Strachan of THE FUNERAL PYRE. The cover artwork was created by Daniel McBride, who has previously worked with VEIL OF MAYA and BORN OF OSIRIS.

Commented vocalist/guitarist Carolos Garcia: "'World in Decline' focuses on the downfall of human civilization as a result of our own selfishness, ignorance, and greed.

"The artwork was handled by our boy Daniel McBride, and the cover art is based on the lyrics for 'Darkest Darkness', which is, basically, about me going to 'confession' just to realize I'm just as guilty as everyone else in contributing to our decline.

"We can't wait for Prosthetic to release the album, and we're even more excited to hit the road and play the new songs for everyone!"

"World In Decline" track listing:

01. The Bane of Existence
02. Sasha Grey
03. Disguised In White
04. God On Fire
05. Wake Up And Smell The Lies
06. New Human
07. A Voice Unspoken
08. Already Dead (feat. John Strachan)
09. Darkest Darkness (feat. Jared Monette)
10. World In Decline (feat. Jared Monette)

Commented Garcia: "We're super-stoked on the finished product, and we hope everyone will feel the same!

"Paul was amazing to work with; he was very encouraging and super-patient with us, and we're eternally grateful for that. And, of course, he knows his way around the console.

"This is honestly the first album we've done that is an accurate representation of ANTAGONIST's live sound, and it definitely showcases a more refined, aggressive sound. We're taking it back to the old school!"

Regarding the lyrical themes covered on "World In Decline", Garcia said, "'Exist' had a hopeful message of working together as humans towards a better future. The new album is about the realization that things will always be fucked up, people will always be selfish, and this world is going to end at any minute, and we have nobody to blame but ourselves.

"People grow older and figure out that life doesn't get any easier and that our own selfishness, carelessness, and ignorance are at the core of our demise. So right now, that's where our heads are at, which will in turn no doubt lead to a much more aggressive and angry album."

ANTAGONIST's Prosthetic debut, "Exist", came out in 2008.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email