ANTI-MORTEM: 'New Southern' Album Artwork Unveiled

March 6, 2014

"New Southern", the debut album by Oklahoma natives and saviors of southern-infused hard rock ANTI-MORTEM, will be released in physical and digital formats on April 28 (U.K.),April 15 (rest of Europe) and April 29 (North America) via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The album was produced, recorded, and mixed by Bob Marlette (BLACK STONE CHERRY, LYNYRD SKYNYRD, SHINEDOWN, ROB ZOMBIE).

The "New Southern" album artwork was created by Brent Elliott White (DEATH ANGEL, JOB FOR A COWBOY, TRIVIUM),and can be seen below.

"New Southern" track listing:

01. Words Of Wisdom
02. New Southern
03. 100% Pure American Rage
04. Hate Automatic
05. Black Heartbeat
06. I Get Along With The Devil
07. Path To Pain
08. Wake Up
09. Ride Of Your Life
10. Stagnant Water
11. Truckstop Special
12. Jonesboro
13. A Little Too Lose (bonus track; MR. BIG cover)

The "New Southern" bundle — which includes the album and an exclusive t-shirt — is available for pre-order now at this location.

The video for "100% Pure American Rage", the lead-off single from the "New Southern", can be seen below. The clip was shot, produced, and directed by Clark Deal of Chaotic Productions.

"It's brutal but accessible," ANTI-MORTEM guitarist Zain Smith states about the track. "It's very political. The solos are tasty. It's new-day metal, but it has a LED ZEPPELIN-esque guitar tone and solo. There's nothing that sounds like this song out there."

The "100% Pure American Rage" single is currently available for purchase on iTunes.

Fans will have the opportunity to witness ANTI-MORTEM's feral testicular fortitude when they tour the U.S. supporting TEXAS HIPPIE COALITION for 16 shows starting on March 28 in Atlanta, Georgia and wrapping up in Des Moines, Iowa on April 15.

"Hard rock is stagnating," assesses ANTI-MORTEM frontman Larado Romo. "We want people to think, 'Rock has balls again.' When you see us live, you will be crushed."

Formed in 2008 and fronted by vocalist Larado Romo, ANTI-MORTEM's lineup includes older brother-guitarist Nevada Romo, guitarist Zain Smith, bassist Corey Henderson and drummer Levi Dickerson. With over 300 shows to their name, these Chickasha, Oklahoma natives (aged between 18 and 22) spent their formative nights and weekends woodshedding their sound on the concert stage they built themselves in the Smith family barn (originally intended to store an old car collection).

While Zain's parents were away working on the weekends, ANTI-MORTEM would turn their barn rehearsal space into a makeshift venue and hone their chops by inviting friends and family in Chickasha over for an afternoon of gravel-throated vocals, crunch-laden riffs, thick grooves, and some good ol'-fashioned Southern hospitality.


Larado Romo - Lead Vocals 

Nevada Romo - Guitar

Zain Smith - Guitar

Corey Henderson - Bass

Levi Dickerson - Drums


Find more on Anti-mortem
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email