Archive News Apr 05, 2001 - update 2

April 5, 2001

Former SKID ROW frontman Sebastian Bach will be taping an appearance on the Sally Jesse Raphael talk show this Monday, April 9th, at 11 am in NYC. The show topic is 'Broadway — Past &amp Present '.&nbsp An air date will be announced soon.

Former SMASHING PUMPKINS frontman Billy Corgan has been in the studio working with Marianne Faithfull. The pair have collaborated on three songs for the latter's upcoming album, two of them being originals, and the third one being an as-yet-unnamed cover version. All music for the two original cuts was written by Corgan (who also produced them),while the lyrics were done by Faithfull.

Poland's VADER have cancelled their Scandinavian tour “due to certain errors”. It is not yet known if the dates will be rescheduled for later in the year.

New York's TYPE O NEGATIVE are taking some time out to write their new album and are expected to begin recording in June for an October release.

TheSTART, featuring former HUMAN WASTE PROJECT frontwoman Aimee Echo, have lined up a few west coast shows. The dates are as follows:


April 05 - Anaheim CA @ House Of Blues (w/GOLDFINGER)

April 12&nbsp - Tempe AZ @ Big Fish Sports Pub*

April 13 - Tucson AZ @ The Rialto*

April 14 - San Bernardino, CA @ Gotham*

April 16 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction*

April 17 - San Diego, CA @ Cane's*

April 19 - West Hollywood, CA @ The Whiskey*


*denotes dates with BOY HITS CAR and SIMON SAYS


TheSTART's debut album, Shakedown!, will be released on June 5th through The Label via distribution from Geffen / Interscope Records.

WJRR 101.1 has reported that METALLICA is to receive an award at the ESPN Action Sports &amp Music Awards. The actual awards presentation is Saturday, but the taped show will air during 'prime time' next Tuesday, April 10th.

RAVEN are currently writing and demoing new material while negotiating “some new overseas deals”, according to bassist/vocalist John Gallagher. The new songs “are sounding very strong even at this early stage. Quite a few fast ones, ala 'Faster Than The Speed Of Light'. Also some real heavy stuff, but all in all, good SONGS, no matter what style they may be!! [I'm] very psyched to record this material, as it will be yet another step forward for us!!”

FOZZY, featuring WWF wrestler Chris Jericho and members of SICK SPEED / STUCK MOJO, will be performing at The Norva Theater in Norfolk, Virginia on Friday, June 8th.

Norway's THEATRE OF TRAGEDY have set a release date for their closure:live CD through Massacre Records. The album will now be issued on May 28th, and it will include live-videos of “Cassandra”, “Bacchante” and “Tanz der Schatten” on a special CD-ROM portion of the package.

Unconfirmed reports out of Europe suggest that THE CULT's upcoming studio album is going to be titled Beyond Good And Evil, and the first single is said to be a song called 'Rise'.

Florida cult progressive metallers ATHEIST, who featured in their ranks current NEUROTICA frontman Kelly Shaefer, have struck a deal with France's Seasons Of Mist Records for the re-release of the group's three albums with bonus tracks and liner notes. ATHEIST are also hoping to land an American deal for the reissues in the coming weeks.

Sweden's KAAMOS will be joining VOMITORY at their gig in Örebro, Sweden on Friday, April 6th. This last minute addition came through as a result of VADER's cancellation.

EMI Music Canada has signed alternative/rock band BREACH OF TRUST. Formed in 1994, BREACH OF TRUST is a four-piece unit hailing from La Ronge, Saskatchewan. The band features: Colin Cheechoo (guitar/vocals),William Aubut (drums),Zane Kryzanowsky (bass/vocals) and Marty Ballentyne (vocals/guitar).

Canada's NICKELBACK have been busy writing and rehearsing for their upcoming studio album, which they hope to begin recording shortly. If all goes well a producer will be chosen in the next week or so, and pre-production will commence a short time later. The band reportedly have about 20 songs ready to go, and will be lining up some dates during June and July to preview some of the new material in a live situation.

THE DICTATORS are in the studio finishing off a record, which they hope to release in September.


The full track listing is as follows:


01. Avenue A

02. Who Will Save Rock and Roll?

03. Pussy and Money

04. I Am Right!

05. Jim Gordon Blues

06. Moronic Inferno

07. Channel Surfing

08. What's Up With That?

09. In the Presence of a New God

10. The Savage Beat

11. Burn, Baby, Burn!!

12. It's Alright!


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).