Archive News Jun 04, 2001

June 4, 2001

DESTRUCTION's brand new studio album, The Antichrist, will be released through Nuclear Blast Records in Europe on Monday, August 27th. Like its predecessor, last year's All Hell Breaks Loose, The Antichrist was recorded at Sweden's The Abyss Studios with producer Peter Tagtgren (HYPOCRISY, PAIN). In other DESTRUCTION news, the band have been added to the list of artists performing at the Graspop Festival in Dessel, Belgium on June 22nd (DESTRUCTION goes on at 9:10 PM) and the With Full Force Festival, which takes place on the air field in Roitzschjoera/Leipzig, Germany on June 23rd.

CRADLE OF FILTH have pushed back the US and Canadian release dates for their brand new album, Bitter Suites To Succubi, to July 3rd due to 'production' issues. The album will still be released in Europe on June 18th. As previously reported, CRADLE OF FILTH have signed a new deal with Sony Records, and the band's first album for the label will be a full-length release, due out in 2002, via the group's AbraCadaver imprint.

BATHORY mainman Quorthon recently spoke to the Spanish metal magazine Hell Awaits about the status of the group's long-awaited Destroyer Of Worlds album. According to Quorthon, the reason for the delay in the album's release is simply that 'there is no point in going into a studio to record an album if you don't have anything to say, really, no matter how many letters and e-mails you may receive per day from people who more or less beg you on their knees for a new album. If I was a BATHORY fan, I would rather wait a few years on a new BATHORY album that turns out to be a great album, than to have a less good album at once. There hasn't been a new BATHORY album for quite some time, and of course, there is always a reason for that. One important reason is that BATHORY has covered so many sounds and styles over the years, we first of all had to take certain precautions not to duplicate anything we have done before. Yet, we, of course, still want to maintain that specific BATHORY atmosphere. When people get to hear Destroyer of Worlds at the end of this summer, we want people to be able to say 'This is BATHORY!!'. and yet we want to be able to break some new ground as far as the sound and style is concerned. Half of our fan base enjoys the brutal death metal part of our history, the other half enjoys the epic Nordic style. In order to both please as many BATHORY fans as possible and satisfy ourselves as musicians, we would rather have waited some time before doing Destroyer of Worlds than instantly putting something out on the market we really wouldn't love to death six months later.'


On the subject of the new album's recording, Quorthon had the following to say: 'We haven't begun recording yet. We'll begin this summer and hopefully have the album ready for release at the end of the summer. I have so much material written but as for now I do not know how many or which tracks will eventually end up on the final album.'


BATHORY's forthcoming Destroyer Of Worlds opus is tentatively set to include the following tracks:


01. Destroyer of Worlds

02. Crown of Thorns

03. Liberty &amp Justice

04. Death from Above

05. Kill Kill Kill

06. Obsculum Infame

07. Insecticide

08. Day of Wrath

09. White Bones

10. Bleeding

11. Paranoica

12. Symbolisimus

13. Fire Birth

14. 109

While clips and several full tracks from JUDAS PRIEST's forthcoming Demolition opus have been circulating around the net for a couple of weeks, the group's official site ( has just posted a near-full version of 'Machine Man', the album's first single, plus approximately one-minute clips of 'One On One' and 'Hell Is Home'.

A METALLICA fan gathering, METALLIBASH 2001 will be held at the San Francisco Ramada Plaza Hotel, Whitcomb Ballroom, on Saturday, September 1st, and it will include a performance by the METALLICA cover band CREEPING DEATH. The event will also be covered for the So What! official METALLICA fan club mag.

MEDICATION, the Los Angeles-based band featuring ex-UGLY KID JOE/LIFE OF AGONY vocalist Whitfield Crane, former MACHINE HEAD guitarist Logan Mader, ex-SOULFLY drummer Roy Mayorga and ex-ADAYINTHELIFE… guitarist Blunt, will be playing at the Whiskey A Go Go club in West Hollywood, California on June 20th. KILLFACTOR will be opening the show.

The first three songs of AEROSMITH's performance at the opening night of their tour in Hartford, Connecticut on Wednesday, June 6th will be aired live via VH1 at 9 PM ET/6 PM PT.

The last three shows on the upcoming SLASH'S SNAKEPIT tour will be a co-headlining affair with BILLY IDOL.

Finland's SONATA ARCTICA have had the first single off their upcoming Silence opus, Wolf &amp Raven, enter the Radio Mafia Top 20 chart.

V.O.D. (VISION OF DISORDER) will be contributing to the soundtrack to the upcoming film Faust with an as-yet-unspecified track. The soundtrack, which also includes material from FEAR FACTORY, COAL CHAMBER, AMEN, ILL NIÑO, and NAILBOMB, among others, is slated for a July 24th release through Roadrunner Records. Meanwhile, V.O.D.'s cover of TWISTED SISTER's 'Don't Let Me Down' will be appearing on the Twisted ForeverTS tribute album, due out through Koch Records on September 25th. In other V.O.D. news, the band have announced some more dates on their current tour itinerary. Here are the newly-confirmed shows:


June 13 - Nashville, TN @ 328 Performance Hall

July 03 - New Orleans, LA @ Parish at House of Blues

July 08 - Raleigh, NC @ The Brewery

July 10 - Louisville, KY @ Phoenix Hill

July 13 - Ontario, CAN @ The Opera House

July 19 - New York, NY @ Hammerstein Ballroom

&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp (w/CRADLE OF FILTH)

July 21 - New York, NY @ Irving Plaza

July 22 - Towson, MD @ Recher Theater

Finland's EMBRAZE are preparing to enter the studio to begin recording their third album, which will be released through Mastervox Records at the end of the year. Tentative song titles include the following:


01. My Star

02. Beautiful Death

03. Frozen Swan

04. Subzero

05. Closed

06. Daughters Of The Moon

07. Calm And Distant

08. Sinmaker

09. The Sun Loves The Moon

10. Feeble

11. Fear

12. Kiiminkijoki

Former GRAND SLAM guitarist Laurence Archer is said to be putting together a revamped version of Phil Lynott's post-THIN LIZZY band for several UK dates, including a gig at London's Borderline on July 12th. The new band consists of Archer, Jon Stone on vocals, Simon Jeffrey on drums, Chris Farr on bass and Mark Kirkland on guitar, and the set list will comprise the majority of songs played during the 1984 tour together with some not-so-readily-available on bootlegs.

Sweden's CRYSTAL EYES have parted ways with drummer Kujtim Gashi, who has decided to leave the band to spend more time with his very ill daughter. She's had bad asthma and allergies since birth, and her condition has lately been getting worse and worse. Under these circumstances Kujtim felt that he can not dedicate as much time as needed to CRYSTAL EYES, and he recently informed the band about his final decision. CRYSTAL EYES are presently looking for a new drummer. Interested parties can contact Mikael Dahl via [email protected] or +46 (0)33 411847.


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email