Archive News Mar 11, 2001 - update 2

March 11, 2001

TAETRE guitarist/vocalist Jonas Lindblood and TRANSPORT LEAGUE's Tony Jelencovich have formed an 'early '80s British-style heavy metal' project called COMMANDER. Presently unsigned, COMMANDER played a gig at Belsepub in Gothenburg on February 16th and completed mixing their debut demo at Studio Fredman 2 on March 12th.

THRONEAEON's upcoming album Neither of Gods will be released on the June 18th through Hammerheart Records.

The UK's AREA 54 have completed a series of successful gigs as the support act for BLAZE and are preparing to enter the studio in April to record their as-yet-untitled second album, due to be released through the Dream Catcher label later in the year.

MARILYN MANSONHoly Wood (In The Shadow Of The Valley Of Death) is nominated for a 2001 California Music Award for 'Outstanding Hard Rock / Heavy Metal Album'. A PERFECT CIRCLE's Mer de Noms, DEFTONES' White Pony, PAPA ROACH's Infest and QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE's Rated R round up the rest of the nominees.


According to the Boston Globe, MARILYN MANSON is scheduled to perform at WBCN-FM's River Rave in Foxboro, Massachusetts on May 26th at the Foxboro Stadium. Half-dozen or so other artists should be announced shortly, but so far the main stage includes MARILYN MANSON, GREEN DAY, EVERLAST, DISTURBED, SEVENDUST and COLDPLAY.

Sweden's BACKYARD BABIES have changed the title of their upcoming album from Bad Boys United to Making Enemies Is Good and have recently shot the video for the first single, 'Brand New Hate', with directors Jonas Akerlund and Jocke Ahlund. Jonas Akerlund has previously worked with METALLICA, PRODIGY and MADONNA, among others. The single was mixed by Randy Staub (i.e. METALLICA). 'Brand New Hate' is scheduled to be released on April 9th in Scandinavia and Asia, with the full album following on April 30th (the rest of Europe will get the album and single a couple of weeks later).

AMONG THIEVES, featuring former LIFE OF AGONY bassist Alan Robert and ex-AGNOSTIC FRONT drummer Will Shepler, will be performing an industry showcase for interested record labels on Wednesday, April 4th at CBGBs in New York City at 7 PM sharp.

Sweden's MELDRUM, featuring former PHANTOM BLUE guitarist Michelle Meldrum, have lined up their first-ever US gig at the legendary Whiskey A Go Go in West Hollywood on April 12th.



New York, NY, -- Sources close to the band revealed yesterday that all three members of the U.K. doom metal band ELECTRIC WIZARD were searched and interrogated for possession of illegal substances in Richmond, VA on Wednesday March 7th.


ELECTRIC WIZARD arrived in Richmond, VA late in the afternoon on Wednesday, March 7th to load-in and sound check for their show that evening at Twisters. WAR HORSE, the support band on all tour dates was in the venue setting up when ELECTRIC WIZARD was spotted by the police entering a van in the parking lot with a local man. All members of the band and the local man were in the tour van when they realized that they were completely surrounded by local police.


The band was asked to step out of the van, at which point the interrogation began. The van was subjected to a thorough search, which revealed no illegal substances. They only possession of drugs that could be ascertained was the amount being literally held by the band and the local man. A very lengthy cross examination ensued. Erik Larson of Richmond, VA based band, ALABAMA THUNDERPUSSY (also on the bill that evening) was able to intervene on behalf of his British colleagues and get the police to drop the charges.


Had charges been pressed and ELECTRIC WIZARD found guilty of possession, the band would have been deported and barred from ever re-entering the U.S.

When asked to comment on the incident, the band's U.S. label, The Music Cartel, replied 'with a band like the ELECTRIC WIZARD something like this happening wasn't very far off the mark. I just hope nothing worse happens before the tour is completed.' The label would give no further comments about the incident other than that the band will complete the remaining tour dates as planned.

PUYA's Union, due on June 12th through the MCA label, will feature the following track listing:


01. Ride

02. People

03. Erizo

04. Socialize

05. Numbed

06. Bridge

07. Si Aja

08. No Interferences

09. Semilla

10. A Matter Of Time

11. Pati Pami

12. Ahorake

13. Union


PUYA are stronly rumored to be taking part in this year's Tattoo The Earth festival.

GLASSJAW have replaced bassist Manuel RagoonananCarrero with former THIS MOMENT ON four-stringer Mitchell. The band are due to begin recording their second full-length album with producer Ross Robinson in June. One new song title has thus far been leaked: 'Midwestern Stylings'.


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).