Archive News Mar 13, 2001 - update 2

March 13, 2001

The fourth installment of the Fuck The Commerce festival will be taking place between May 24th and May 26th in Neiden, Holland. The following bands are confirmed so far:





C.S.S.O. (Jap)

















UK melodic metallers DRAGONHEART have completed the writing of their debut album. The band hope to enter the studio very soon to record the as-yet-untitled effort.

Italy's DRAGONHEART (not to be confused with the UK band of the same name) have signed with HT Records, a new Brazilian label. The group's new album Throne of the Alliance will feature cover art will by Andreas Marschall (BLIND GUARDIAN, RUNNING WILD, HAMMERFALL),and the mixing/mastering will take place at Finvox Studios in Helsinki, Finland (i.e. STRATOVARIUS, SENTENCED). A bonus track will also be included on the CD—a cover of GRAVE DIGGER's 'Rebellion (The Clans are Marching)'.

Florida's MONSTROSITY will be issuing a double-CD through Hammerheart Records in August entitled Enslaving The Masses. The collection will include a live CD and a CD of rare and obscure tracks from demos, singles and other rare releases.

Holland's SINISTER will be recording their upcoming studio album, Creative Killings, in May.

Hungarian 'melodic, atmospheric metal band with female vocals' SUNSETH SPHERE have signed with Hammerheart Records and have had their debut CD remixed and remastered at RS-29 Studio in Holland (i.e. AYREON, WITHIN TEMPTATION).

In a recent issue of Home Recording magazine, producer/engineer Eddie Kramer commented on the recording of the KISSAlive and Alive II albums, both of which he had produced and engineered. When asked if any overdubs were used, he mentioned that since KISS was 'all over the bloody place ' on stage it was very hard to be perfect there was a lot of sloppy playing and missed vocals. He also stated that KISS was not very 'tight' musically, and that the entire KISSAlive album except for the drums was all overdubs. After the interviewer commented that the album couldn't really be 'Alive' then, Eddie replied, 'Hardly'.

POISON have finally announced the full line-up for their Glam Slam Metal Jam 2001 tour, which is set to begin in late May. The openers will now be WARRANT, QUIET RIOT and ENUFF Z' NUFF.

RAGING SPEEDHORN will be the first act to perform on the main stage at this year's UK Ozzfest festival, taking place at Milton Keynes Bowl on Saturday May 26th. Other bands appearing on the main stage include BLACK SABBATH, SLIPKNOT, TOOL, SOULFLY and PAPA ROACH.

Cleveland's CHIMAIRA have started pre-production for their upcoming debut release, Pass Out Of Existence, with producer Mudrock (GODSMACK, POWERMAN 5000),and will enter Third Stone Studio in California on March 26th to begin recording the album.

SLIPKNOT have completed recording their sophomore CD for the Roadrunner label at Sound City Studios in Los Angeles and will begin mixing the effort with Andy Wallace (i.e. SEPULTURA, LIMP BIZKIT, SOULFLY, SEVENDUST, NIRVANA, SLAYER, etc.) on March 24th in New York City.

SAVATAGE's latest studio album, Poets And Madmen, entered the German Pop Album charts at #7. It also debuted at #1 in the Dutch 'Scherpe Rand' chart (indie album ranking),and it entered the Austrian official Album chart at #70.

SHAMAN's previously announced hometown show in São Paulo, Brazil will now apparently be taking place on April 21 at Via Funchal. SHAMAN feature in their ranks former ANGRA members Andre Matos (vocals),Luis Mariutti (bass) and Ricardo Confessori (guitar).

Finland's STRATOVARIUS will be issuing a CD collection of previously-released cover versions, bonus tracks and several new cuts under the title Intermission through Nuclear Blast Records in May. The full track listing for Intermission is as follows:


01. Will My Soul Ever Rest In Peace? (new song)

02. Falling into Fantasy (new song)

03. The Curtains Are Falling (new song)

04. Requiem (new song)

05. Bloodstone (JUDAS PRIEST cover)

06. Kill The King (RAINBOW cover)

07. I Surrender (RAINBOW cover)

08. Keep The Flame (bonus track)

09. Why Are We Here? (bonus track)

10. What Can I Say (bonus track)

11. Dream With Me (bonus track)

12. When The Night Meets The Day (bonus track)

13. It's A Mystery (bonus track)

14. Cold Winter Nights (bonus track)

15. Hunting High And Low (live version)

METALLICA lead guitarist Kirk Hammett will join THE SANTANA BAND (featuring Carlos Santana) on stage for three songs on April 4th at the Fillmore Auditorium in San Francisco in a performance that will help raise funds for the San Francisco School of the Arts. Cheech Marin of Nash Bridges will be Master of Ceremonies. The event features a raffle and live auction of various items as well.


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).