January 20, 2014

Pitch Black Records has announced the signing of ARMAGEDDON REV.16:16. The band's new album, "Sundown On Humanity", will be released on March 11.

ARMAGEDDON REV.16:16 (a.k.a. ARMAGEDDON) is the longest-running and most respected Cypriot metal band. The scene veterans were formed in 1985 and have kept active since then, mainly with their continuous live presence as well as their demo and EP releases. Of course, their renowned 1993 self-titled 12-inch EP needs no introduction as it is now considered a truly hard-to-find, major collector's item internationally.

"Sundown On Humanity" is actually ARMAGEDDON REV.16:16's first full-length album after all these years, making it an even more highly anticipated release. The band's style remains true to its original beginnings of melodic classic heavy metal with some power and progressive elements fused in their style.

The "Sundown On Humanity" recording lineup sees original members Jimmy Mavrommatis on vocals, Kikis A. Apostolou on lead guitar and Elias A. Andreou on rhythm guitars joined by accomplished musicians Nikolas Papaeftychiou on bass and Kerry Elgar on drums (replaced recently by Evangelos Varnava).

"Sundown On Humanity" includes guest appearances by Bob Katsionis (FIREWIND) on keyboards and guitar, Nicholas Leptos (ARRAYAN PATH, WARLORD),Tasos Karonias (R.U.S.T.) and Andreas Paraschos (BLYND) on vocals. Bob Katsionis also mixed and mastered the album at his own Sound Symmetry Studio in Athens, Greece.

Featuring 12 tracks, "Sundown On Humanity" clocks in at just over 58 minutes. Special mention should be made to the closing track of the album, "Icy Blackness (Kursk)", a tribute to the crew of the Russian submarine Kursk that perished in the summer of 2000. This song includes yet another guest appearance, that of Petros Leptos (SOLITARY SABRED),who lends his voice to create a haunting spoken intro.

The full track listing is as follows:

01. E.K. 40 (Intro)
02. Human Sundown
03. Shades of Tomorrow
04. Strange Dreams
05. Fallen Angels and Lost Souls
06. Hypocrites of Destruction
07. New Day Will Come
08. 13-Seventh Eleven
09. Why
10. Heavy Metal
11. United
12. Icy Blackness (Kursk)


Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).