ARTILLERY To Release 'The Face Of Fear' Album In November

September 26, 2018

Danish thrash metal veterans ARTILLERY will release their ninth studio album, "The Face Of Fear", on November 16 via Metal Blade. The follow-up to 2016's "Penalty By Perception" is ARTILLERY's third effort with the current lineup.

The official video for "The Face Of Fear" title track can be seen below.

The lyrics are ARTILLERY as you know them, with subjects concerning the destruction of mankind, double standards, abuse and the looming worst-case scenarios. "The Face Of Fear" was recorded with longtime producer Søren Andersen at Medley Studios. It's Søren's fifth time at the helm, and once again he manages to deliver a monster production.

Søren comments: "Pure and raw! Some of the material of this album was originally written in the early '80s, and that inspired us to go old school this time. Not too many layers, just classic ARTILLERY thrash metal... And Bastholm [singer Michael Bastholm Dahl] is better than ever on this one. This is a no-filler album, created together with the band. I'm really proud of the final result and I hope everyone will enjoy it as much as I do!"

ARTILLERY comments about the video for "The Face Of Fear": "Most of the scenes for the video were shot at Amager strand park right outside of Copenhagen. And the live scenes go back to when the band visited Japan and played at the Thrash Dominations together with EXODUS, VOIVOD and SANCTUARY. The video was shot by the band's good friend Terkel Christensen, who also did the video 'When The Magic is Gone', from the last album, 'Penalty By Perception'. The song is about dealing the end of man by himself. We create our own phobia about the destruction of the world, but remain disrespectful to the globe."

"The Face Of Fear" track listing:

01. The Face Of Fear
02. Crossroads To Conspiracy
03. New Rage
04. Sworn Utopia
05. Through The Ages Of Atrocity
06. Thirst For The Worst
07. Pain
08. Under Water (instumental)
09. Preaching To The Converted
10. Mind Of No Return (limited first-edition bonus track / re-recorded song from ARTILLERY's first demo from 1982)
11. Doctor Evil (limited first-edition bonus track / 2018 version)

Since the release of "Penalty By Perception" — which won the band four Danish Metal Awards in 2016 (best album, best band, best production and honorary prize) — ARTILLERY has toured around the world, including Europe, South America and parts of Asia. For the rest of 2018, there will be time for Copenhell's Metal Cruise and a Denmark tour, plus a release party on High Voltage. 2019 will include tours in Europe, South America and USA.


Michael Bastholm Dahl - Vocals
Michael Stützer - Guitars
Morten Stützer - Guitars
Peter Thorslund - Bass
Joshua Madsen - Drums

Find more on Artillery
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email