ASHES OF ARES Feat. Former ICED EARTH Members: 'The Alien' Video

November 9, 2018

ASHES OF ARES, the band featuring former ICED EARTH members Matt Barlow and Freddie Vidales, has released a video for the song "The Alien". The clip was directed by David Brodsky for MyGoodEye. The track is taken from the band's second album, "Well Of Souls", which is being released today (Friday, November 9) via ROAR! Rock Of Angels Records.

Barlow comments on the song: "'The Alien' is a tribute to Earth's original superhero. It's the story of our hero's relationship with his family, and a world that may never fully realize, his strength is matched only by his love of humanity."

"Well Of Souls" was recorded during June and July 2018 and was mixed and mastered in August 2018 at The Terrarium in Minneapolis, Minnesota. All music and lyrics by were written by ASHES OF ARES except "You Know My Name", which was written by Chris Cornell and David Arnold.

"Well Of Souls" was recorded and mixed by Rob Oesterlin, and was mastered by Jacques Wait. The disc was produced by ASHES OF ARES and Rob Oesterlin and features artwork by Kamil Pietruczynik. Guest musicians on the album include Van Williams (GHOST SHIP OCTAVIUS, ex-NEVERMORE) on drums and Jonah Weingarten (WE ARE SENTINELS, PYRAMAZE, TERAMAZE) on the keyboard intro composition.

"Well Of Souls" track listing:

01. Consuming The Mana
02. The Alien
03. Unworthy
04. Soul Searcher
05. Sun Dragon
06. Transcending
07. Let All Despair
08. In The Darkness
09. Spirit Of Man
10. Time Traveler
11. The God Of War
12. You Know My Name (bonus track)

Back in February 2017, ASHES OF ARES parted ways with Williams. His replacement has yet to be announced.

ASHES OF ARES's self-titled debut album was released in September 2013 via Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was recorded in part at Morrisound Recording in Tampa, Florida with legendary producer Jim Morris (ICED EARTH, OBITUARY, JON OLIVA'S PAIN, JAG PANZER).

Find more on Iced earth
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email