ATREYU: New Album Details Revealed

June 20, 2007

Pioneering metallic rock band ATREYU has announced an August 28 release date for its Hollywood Records debut, "Lead Sails Paper Anchor". The band will be previewing select songs from the highly anticipated album during the upcoming Family Values Tour, which launches July 20 in Maryland Heights, Missouri and will see ATREYU sharing the stage with KORN, HELLYEAH and EVANESCENCE, among others.

ATREYU recorded "Lead Sails Paper Anchor" this spring with producer John Feldmann (THE USED, GOOD CHARLOTTE) who worked with the band to create their most infectious, ambitious and musically challenging disc yet. While the band's juxtaposition of hardcore-influenced chaos and rock-influenced melody is still present, the gulf between the two styles is diminished, making the passages flow in a smoother and more naturalistic manner. "Lead Sails Paper Anchor" was mixed by Andy Wallace (NIRVANA, SLIPKNOT, LINKIN PARK).

"When we did this record, everything was clicking in terms of how the songs would come together when we were writing them," says singer Alex Varkatzas. "And then when we sat down with John to work on them it felt so natural and organic, and each song had its own vibe."

In addition to the band's trademark rhythms and thunderous beats, there's a jubilant sense of exploration. Triumphant guitar passages draw inspiration from range of music styles including classic rock, psychedelia, pop and even alt-country. Electronic embellishments imbue the songs with modern flair and a previously unexplored range of vocal techniques from Varkatzas and drummer Brandon Saller.

"I screamed for three records straight, so I've been working really hard at getting better at more clean styles of vocals," Varkatzas says. "We wanted to push everything further and it was just so natural for these songs to sound the way they do."

"Becoming The Bull" starts with a vicious metal lick and develops into an insistent number layered with angular riffs and a sing-along chorus. "Falling Down" combines a shuffling beat charged guitars with radio-ready vocals and celebratory trumpet blasts. "Blow" is pure testosterone-pumped rawk fueled by a simple, driving rhythm, unapologetic '80s metal guitars and raging, snotty vocals.

"Lead Sails Paper Anchor" track listing:

01. Doomsday
02. Honor
03. Falling Down
04. Becoming the Bull
05. Slow Burn
06. Two Become One
07. No One Cares
08. Can't Happen Here
09. Lose It
10. Blow
11. Lead Sails (and a Paper Anchor)

Fans who wish to try their hand at producing can log onto to assemble a jigsaw puzzle of sound files into the song "Becoming The Bull". The participant who puts together the song the quickest by August 6 will receive a signed guitar, a phone call from the band, an advance copy of the CD and a free membership to ATREYU's fan club.

The Orange County, CA-based quintet (vocalist Alex Varkatzas, guitarist Dan Jacobs, guitarist Travis Miguel, bassist Marc McKnight and drummer/vocalist Brandon Saller) arrived on the scene — and quickly made their presence felt — in 2002 with their much-lauded debut album, "Suicide Notes and Butterfly Kisses". The album redefined Southern California's heavy rock sound and established ATREYU as its most exciting young voice.

They maintained their pack leader position with 2004's "The Curse", which went on to sell nearly 400,000 copies. The band toured heavily in support, playing 2004's Ozzfest and headlining the main stage on 2005's Warped Tour, in addition to their own successful headlining run. They exploded in 2006 with "A Death Grip On Yesterday", which hit No. 9 on the Billboard chart and was praised by Guitar World as an album that blends influences such as New Wave of British Heavy Metal and guitar virtuosity on the level of '80s hair metal into "a distinctive amalgam that's exciting young headbangers." They graced the covers of Revolver and Alternative Press, garnered airplay on MTV and Fuse and spent last summer headlining the second stage at Ozzfest after signing with Hollywood Records.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).