ATROPHY Announces First Album In 34 Years, 'Asylum'

February 7, 2024

34 years since their latest album "Violent By Nature", released in 1990, Tucson, Arizona-based thrash metal titans ATROPHY return with a brand new album. "Asylum" will be unleashed on March 15, 2024 via Massacre Records.

"Asylum" marks the next evolutionary step for ATROPHY. Keeping the speed of "Socialized Hate" and the grooves of "Violent By Nature", this album adds a big dose of heaviness to the mix resulting in a satisfying aural kick in your face.

ATROPHY has premiered a lyric video for the first single from "Asylum", the album opening track "Punishment For All". Check it out below.

ATROPHY frontman Brian Zimmerman states about the track: "'Punishment For All' was inspired by the attempted insurrection on January 6 (2021) with COVID-19 restrictions still in play. To sit in my living room and watch this unfold was almost too much to bear. Americans were at each other's throats, calling people traitors, or trying to undermine democracy and not believing in the results of the election, following the myriad conspiracy theories that were swirling around at the time. I thought to myself, what if they were successful? What are we, as a country divided, going to do then? Take down everything we have built together as a country? What are we putting in place? Are we just going to do whatever the loudest people tell us to do? The whole thing was just absolutely crazy."

"Asylum" was produced, mixed and mastered by Alex Parra at Second Sight Studio.

The track listing is as follows:

01. Punishment For All
02. High Anxiety
03. Seeds Of Sorrow
04. Distortion
05. Bleeding Out
06. American Dream
07. Close My Eyes
08. The Apostle
09. Five Minutes 'Til Suicide

"Asylum" recording lineup:

Brian Zimmerman - Vocals
Nathan Montalvo - Lead Guitar
Mark Coglan - Rhythm Guitar
Josh Gibbs - Bass
Jonas Sh├╝tz - Drums

Guest musicians:

Kragen Lum - Lead Guitar on "American Dream"
Justin Stear - Bass Guitar on "American Dream", "Close My Eyes", "Distortion"

Find more on Atrophy
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).