AUDIOTOPSY Feat. MUDVAYNE Members: 'L.Y.L.A.B.' Video Released

July 30, 2016

"L.Y.L.A.B.", the new video from AUDIOTOPSY, the band featuring guitarist Greg Tribbett (MUDVAYNE, HELLYEAH),drummer Matt McDonough (MUDVAYNE),vocalist Billy Keeton (SKRAPE),can be seen below. The song is taken from AUDIOTOPSY's debut album, "Natural Causes", which was released on October 2, 2015 via Napalm. The CD was produced by the AUDIOTOPSY bandmembers at The Porch Studio in Orlando, Florida with engineer Tim Laud.

McDonough stated about the clip: "In keeping with the DIY philosophy of AUDIOTOPSY, we took upon ourselves the task to create our own video for the track 'L.Y.L.A.B.'. We enlisted our close confidantes, Adam Neal Gonzales for filming [and] directing, and Terry Linder for post production. Their skill and dedication shines in the end result. We share a deep sense of pride and accomplishment in the work on this video. And we are excited to now have the opportunity to share our vision with you."

"Natural Causes" track listing:

01. Headshot
02. All We Know
03. L.Y.L.A.B.
04. The Calling
05. H2O (Interlude)
06. Swim
07. Disguise Your Devils
08. Burn the Sky
09. Distorted
10. Darken the Rainbow
11. Frozen Scars
12. Natural Causes (Outro)

Tribbett told Metal Insider last year about how AUDIOTOPSY was formed: "In July of 2013, I gave Matt a call just to say what's up, and we talked and were, like, 'Man, we should put a band together. Why aren't we playing music?' I ended up flying up to his house for a weekend and we wrote seven songs in two days. We hadn’t played together since 2009, so the creativity was definitely there. And as soon as that happened, we knew we had to find a singer and a bass player. I mentioned Billy to him, and we knew him from SKRAPE touring with MUDVAYNE back in the day or whatever. He was taken aback by it, because he was pretty much in retirement — he was playing in cover bands and stuff — but he was totally stoked. He happened to be playing with Perry, our bass player at the time, so they came in like a package deal. We went down to Florida to record those seven songs in August of last year, and we just gelled. It came together really quick."

Greg previously stated about the making of "Natural Causes": "The focus was to write solid, hooky, big riff songs. We didn't want to sound or look like every other band. It's not supposed to be regular. We're all building this vision together." Merging intricate instrumentation with a seamless knack for melody, they conjured up a style as heavy as it is hypnotic. "We got a vibe going", added Greg. You could call it 'progressive hard rock.'"

Tribbett and bassist Bob "Zilla" Kakaha were dismissed from HELLYEAH in 2013.

HELLYEAH and MUDVAYNE singer Chad Gray told The Pulse Of Radio that the split with his longtime bandmate and friend Tribbett was painful. "It was really, really tough, I mean, kind of watching Greg go through the things he was going through, you know, as his brother, as somebody that's worked with him for 18 years," he said. "I was watching this decline in him, you know, and it was really, really difficult."

Meanwhile, it's been seven years since MUDVAYNE released its self-titled fifth album, which was barely promoted and sold weakly upon release.

The band has been silent since then, although a message was posted at its Facebook page in 2014 saying that the group had not broken up.


Find more on Mudvayne
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email