AUGURY Members Comment On Upcoming Tour With GOD DETHRONED

May 30, 2009

Members of Montreal's AUGURY are preparing to embark on their first tour of North America in September with Dutch death metallers GOD DETHRONED, New York's ABIGAIL WILLIAMS, and Ohio's WOE OF TYRANTS in support of their Nuclear Blast debut, "Fragmentary Evidence".

Commented guitarist Mathieu Marcotte: "It'll be exciting to spread our music to a larger audience in America. Even though we have never played there yet, we have a lot of fans who are waiting to see us live. The challenge is the same wherever you're playing: to put out your best every night while having fun." Drummer Antoine Baril added: "There are so many great cities that I've always been dreaming to visit and it's even better to know that we will play a show in each one of them. My biggest challenge is to get better and better as a musician at each show and spread energy to the crowd to share the endless passion I have for this music we play."

"What we expect is a spiral of colliding human bodies, rotating as a single mass, yielding all that energy," predicted vocalist and guitarist Patrick Loisel. "In the end, it'll be like Godzilla trampled your town!"

In addition to pledging multiple updates during the tour and answering all fan e-mails, AUGURY's self-described "archive freak" (Baril) will be uploading video footage from the tour onto the band's MySpace site.

"Fragmentary Evidence" is scheduled for release on July 17 in Europe and August 11 in North America. The CD was produced by Hugues Deslauriers (CLEARWATER DEATHBLOW),Yannick St-Amand (DESPISED ICON) and AUGURY, and was mixed by KATAKLYSM guitarist Jean-Francois Dagenais (MISERY INDEX, DESPISED ICON, MALEVOLENT CREATION). It was mastered by James Murphy (DEATH, OBITUARY, DISINCARNATE). The artwork and layout was handled by Sven de Caluwé (ABORTED).

"Fragmentary Evidence" track listing:

01. Aetheral (4:18)
02. Simian Cattle (5:38)
03. Orphans Of Living (5:10)
04. Jupiter To Ignite (8:24)
05. Sovereigns Unknown (5:13)
06. Skyless (6:30)
07. Faith Puppeteers (4:07)
08. Brimstone Landscapes (4:30)
09. Oversee The Rebirth (11:12)

The CD features additional guest vocals by Syriak and Leilindel (UNEXPECT),Youri Raymond (CRYPTOPSY, UNHUMAN),Sébastien Croteau (NECROTIC MUTATION),Filip Ivanovic (AGONY),Eric Fiset (OBSCENE CRISIS, NERVOUS IMPULSE).

AUGURY was described in a recent Nuclear Blast press release as "a band for all the fans out there who like their music really progressive! Think NECROPHAGIST meets DREAM THEATER meets OPETH, but with lots of other influences as well! What you should do is to check out the amazingly cool bass playing by Forest!! Their new album . . . contains some of the most versatile musicianship you will ever hear! Canada has always delivered some cool technical and progressive bands and AUGURY is a prime example for this! Their new songs . . . blew us away and there was only one logical thing for us to do — sign them!"

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).