AUGURY Parts Ways With Bassist

February 24, 2010

Montreal progressive death metal act AUGURY gas issued the following update:

"After eight years of collaboration, we are sad to announce that we had to part ways with our bass player Dominic 'Forest' Lapointe. We keep in mind his outstanding musical input and volcanic stage presence, and thank him for helping to shape the sound of AUGURY. But the show must go on and we are actually starting The American Defloration tour with THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, OBSCURA and HATESPHERE, with a very special rhythm section featuring Quebec City jazz player Christian Pacaud (MAG project) on bass, and our longtime friend Tommy McKinnon (formerly of NEURAXIS) behind the drum kit. With such great personnel on board, we are eager to give American ears a good scrub once again!"

Drummer Antoine Baril announced his departure from AUGURY last November. He stated at the time, "Some personal and professional reasons made multiple touring impossible for me at the moment." He added, "I wish all the best for AUGURY because those wonderful guys are making incredibly good music. I will never forget those memorable shows and I would like to thank everyone for their support on the road everywhere we've been on tour."

AUGURY's first new album in five years, "Fragmentary Evidence", was released internationally on Nuclear Blast and has been licensed for release at home in Canada through Goodfellow/Sonic Unyon.

Fan-filmed video footage of AUGURY's Canadian CD-release show on August 15, 2009 at Club Soda in Montreal, Quebec can be viewed at this location. One of the clips is available below.

"Fragmentary Evidence" was produced by Hugues Deslauriers (CLEARWATER DEATHBLOW),Yannick St-Amand (DESPISED ICON) and AUGURY, and was mixed by KATAKLYSM guitarist Jean-Francois Dagenais (MISERY INDEX, DESPISED ICON, MALEVOLENT CREATION). It was mastered by James Murphy (DEATH, OBITUARY, DISINCARNATE). The artwork and layout was handled by Sven de Caluwé (ABORTED). The CD features guest vocals by Sven de Caluwé (ABORTED, SYSTEM DIVIDE),Syriak and Leilindel (UNEXPECT),Youri Raymond (CRYPTOPSY, UNHUMAN),Sébastien Croteau (NECROTIC MUTATION),Filip Ivanovic (AGONY) and Eric Fiset (OBSCENE CRISIS, NERVOUS IMPULSE).

AUGURY was described in a Nuclear Blast press release as "a band for all the fans out there who like their music really progressive! Think NECROPHAGIST meets DREAM THEATER meets OPETH, but with lots of other influences as well! What you should do is to check out the amazingly cool bass playing by Forest!! Their new album . . . contains some of the most versatile musicianship you will ever hear! Canada has always delivered some cool technical and progressive bands and AUGURY is a prime example for this! Their new songs . . . blew us away and there was only one logical thing for us to do — sign them!"

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email