AVANTASIA: Lyric Video For 'The Raven Child' Feat. HANSI KÜRSCH, JØRN LANDE

AVANTASIA: Lyric Video For 'The Raven Child' Feat. HANSI KÜRSCH, JØRN LANDE

The official lyric video for the song "The Raven Child" from EDGUY frontman Tobias Sammet's AVANTASIA project can be seen below. The track is taken from AVANTASIA's "Moonglow" album, which will arrive on February 15, 2019 (pushed back from February 1) via Nuclear Blast.

More than 11 minutes long and featuring vocals of Tobias, Hansi Kürsch (BLIND GUARDIAN) and Jørn Lande (MASTERPLAN), "The Raven Child" is quite an unusual choice for a first single.

Tobias comments: "We have never been a typical radio band with two-and-a-half-minutes hit singles, so even though some music industry friends thought we are nuts, it’s not a weird move to go with 'The Raven Child', if you ask me. The song showcases the variety of AVANTASIA, many aspects of what defines my sound, songwriting and musical journey. It’s a trip to a dark and fantastic world, with Celtic elements, heavy elements, anthemic vocal lines, Gregorian chants, a canon type choir and I am sure, many of our fan understand and appreciate the song. Yes, it may be a heavy radio song and not a commercial radio song, but at this point it's a good start to give longtime AVANTASIA fans an idea of what to expect if they get the new AVANTASIA album."

Comprising 11 tracks, the new opus features several other guest vocalists. This time around, Tobias worked not only with such well-known faces as Ronnie Atkins (PRETTY MAIDS), Eric Martin (MR. BIG), Geoff Tate (QUEENSRŸCHE), Michael Kiske (HELLOWEEN) and Bob Catley (MAGNUM) but also with new collaborators like Candice Night (BLACKMORE'S NIGHT) and Mille Petrozza (KREATOR). The cover artwork was created by Alexander Jansson. "The Raven Child" features lead vocals by Sammet, Kürsch and Lande.

Comments Sammet: "I really can't wait to unleash 'Moonglow'. First reactions by press and friends are the most enthusiastic comments I have ever gotten in my whole career of 27 years. No bullshit; it's the truth. Sascha and I are overwhelmed!

"In order to avoid boredom, in the middle of promotion and tour preparations, I was getting myself involved in every detail of the album sleeves, booklets and packaging, to make sure the album drags the listener into a different world. I wanted 'Moonglow' to be an overall experience for escapists like myself.

"My favorite edition is the giant super strictly limited art book edition with bonus track and a bonus CD. A massive coffee table book with photos, interview, liner notes and illustrations of Victorian painter Grimshaw who has been very inspirational to me. This book edition is everything it takes to invite the listener into the world of 'Moonglow' and its productional process. There is also a smaller digibook version that features one bonus track and that is limited and beautiful as well. And, of course, there are also vinyl editions to hug, feel, watch, smell and caress.

"I am extremely proud of all these little treasures and can't wait to unleash them!"

"Moonglow" track listing:

01. Ghost In The Moon
02. Book Of Shallows
03. Moonglow
04. The Raven Child
05. Starlight
06. Invincible
07. Alchemy
08. The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn
09. Lavender
10. Requiem For A Dream
11. Maniac
12. Heart (bonus track)


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).