AVATARIUM: Lyric Video For 'Medusa Child'

August 31, 2017

The lyric video for the song "Medusa Child" from Swedish metallers AVATARIUM can be seen below. The track is taken from the band's third studio album, "Hurricanes And Halos", which was released on May 26 via Nuclear Blast. The artwork for the disc was once again created by Erik Rovanpera, who previously designed the cover art of the band's debut album, and shows a mystical creature inspired by "Medusa Child".

"Hurricanes And Halos" track listing:

01. Into The Fire / Into The Storm (4:14)
02. The Starless Sleep (4:47)
03. Road To Jerusalem (5:48)
04. Medusa Child (9:00)
05. The Sky At The Bottom Of The Sea (5:25)
06. When Breath Turns To Air (4:46)
07. A Kiss (From The End Of The World) (7:14)
08. Hurricanes And Halos (3:32)

As was the case with the band's first two efforts, AVATARIUM relies on beauty and darkness, heavy guitars and fragile sounds, unique female vocals and the mystic vintage blues sound from the '60s, while still staying on modern ground and trusting into the haunting soul of doom rock. Six out of the eight new tracks were forged by CANDLEMASS wizard Leif Edling, but guitar master Marcus Jidell and Jennie-Ann Smith also contributed to the songwriting and formed a worthy successor to "The Girl With The Raven Mask" — an album that landed the band the "Up And Coming" award from Germany's Metal Hammer magazine.

"Hurricanes And Halos" was produced by Jidell himself, while David Castillo (KATATONIA, BLOODBATH, OPETH) recorded and mixed it in the famous Ghost Ward Studios and the mastering was done by Jens Bogren (SOILWORK, SEPULTURA). Together they created an organic and warm sound that sets "Hurricanes And Halos" apart from the overbred, electronically optimized mass.

"Recording 'Hurricanes And Halos' has truly been an emotional roller coaster for me and I do think that has contributed to a pure and vibrating energy on the album. I am deeply proud of what we have achieved together," stated Jennie-Ann Smith. Jidell added: "It feels like the two previous albums and the EPs lead us to this one. It's been a natural flow to where we are today, musical- and emotional-wise."


Find more on Avatarium
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email