AXEL RUDI PELL To Release 'Game Of Sins' Album In January

November 6, 2015

German guitar hero Axel Rudi Pell will release his sixteenth studio album, "Game Of Sins" on January 15, 2016 (January 22 in the U.S.) through SPV/Steamhammer.

When Axel Rudi Pell celebrated his first 25 years as a solo artist with a three-hour-plus show in Balingen, Germany on July 11, 2014, he not only awed the 15,000 fans in front of the stage. Released on April 24, 2015, the live recording of this once-in-a-lifetime concert, dubbed "Magic Moments", went straight to No. 1 in the German and Swedish DVD charts, #4 in Switzerland, #7 in Austria, and #17 in the Netherlands. Anybody expecting Axel to rest on his laurels after that spectacular feat doesn't know the man and his work ethic.

Already collecting ideas in the summer of 2014, he ensconced himself in the studio again in fall 2015. "Everything went according to plan," he smiles. So nothing went wrong? Nothing new on the Axel Rudi Pell front? Again, the objective observer doesn't know Axel. Anyone assuming that he would invite his numerous festival guests on his next studio album for another anniversary celebration knows nothing about the man. Axel Rudi Pell can do it on his own. And he wants to do it on his own. "I never even thought of having guest musicians on this album," he explains. And why should he? Since Bobby Rondinelli (ex-RAINBOW, BLACK SABBATH, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT) joined the Axel Rudi Pell fold in 2013, the band sounds tighter than ever because "Bobby fits like a glove." Pell points out that Rondinelli is the perfect drummer who always knows exactly what to play; on "Game Of Sins" even more so than on the predecessor album "Into The Storm" (released in 2014, # 5 in Germany). So it comes as no surprise that Axel's 16th studio recording featuring original material is a definite winner. "Everybody involved agrees," he grins. "There's not a single filler on the album." Which apparently was not the case on some of his previous offerings, as he admits with a smirk. "Game Of Sins" is way harder, grittier, the songwriting even more accomplished, experience meeting excellence again.

Especially sound-wise, Axel Rudi Pell appears to have made a quantum leap. "Looking back, I have to admit that the drums on the last album stayed too much in the background," a fact which has changed for the better: they sound much fuller and much more aggressive this time around and have been adapted to suit the new songs. Having said that, this album is a must-have not only for air drummers — riff fetishists and solo aficionados will also love Axel Rudi Pell's new material. And it's no secret that vocalist Johnny Gioeli counts among the best of his profession. All in all, "Game Of Sins" presents a band at the peak of its powers. Although the sleeve and the intro "Lenta Fortuna" (Latin for "bad luck") may suggest that this is a concept album about gambling — it is not. "Game Of Sins" is Axel Rudi Pell at his best: the sirens in the metallic opener "Fire" are a perfect wake-up call, "Sons In The Night" with its "Sons Of Anarchy"-inspired lyrics pays tribute to the NWOBHM. The title track is the longest number on the album, nine minutes of those epic structures and Arabian scales which Pell is so fond of. "Falling Star" once again refers to the early '80s.

Is there an Axel Rudi Pell album without a ballad? They may well be one day, but as long as Axel writes beautiful specimen such as "Lost In Love", there's bound to be one. Among the recording's highlights features "The King Of Fools" with its his five minutes of pure emotion, a perfect symbiosis between steeliness and melody, with an unbelievable performance by Gioeli, but don't forget to listen to Axel's guitars on the verses! "Till The World Says Goodbye" again presents Pell in his element: an epic, almost dark and doomy ballad, a moving soundtrack for the Judgment Day. "Breaking The Rules" is another melodic rock song, before the regular album finishes with a slow number called "Forever Free". But the crowning glory is included in the digipak format: Axel Rudi Pell is the first musician to successfully deliver a real hard-rocking version of the almighty Bob Dylan/Jimi Hendrix classic "All Along The Watchtower"; which has been his heart's desire for a long time, as Axel explains. "That song is far from easy to arrange, but the result is definitely worth the effort." Or, to be more precise: "Everything went according to plan."

"Game Of Sins" track listing:

01. Lenta Fortuna (intro) (01:24
02. Fire (05:34
03. Sons In The Night (05:07
04. Game Of Sins (08:43
05. Falling Star (05:14
06. Lost In Love (06:07
07. The King Of Fools (04:58
08. Till The World Says Goodbye (07:40
09. Breaking The Rules (05:07
10. Forever Free (08:29
11. All Along The Watchtower (06:03 (digipack bonus track)

"Game Of Sins" will be released in the following configurations:

* Digipack incl. 1 bonus track and poster
* Jewel case clear tray edition
* 2LP gatefold, 180 g, black vinyl, CD in paper sleeve
* Download version
* Limited boxset including digi, 2LP, miniature replica Fender guitar 1:4 including ARP gift box case, poster, sticker, photocard

Axel Rudi Pell lineup:

Johnny Gioeli - Lead and Backing Vocals
Axel Rudi Pell - Lead, Rhythm and Acoustic Guitars
Ferdy Doernberg - Keyboards
Volker Krawczak - Bass
Bobby Rondinelli - Drums


Find more on Axel rudi pell
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).