BARREN EARTH: 'Curse Of The Red River' Details Revealed

January 13, 2010

BARREN EARTH — the new Helsinki, Finland-based project featuring members of KREATOR, MOONSORROW, SWALLOW THE SUN and MANNHAI — will release its full-length debut, "Curse Of The Red River", on the following dates:

March 10: Finland
March 8: Rest Of Europe
April 6: USA

The cover artwork was created by Travis Smith (OPETH, KATATONIA, BLOODBATH) and can be viewed below.

"Curse Of The Red River" track listing:

01. The Curse Of The Red River (7:52)
02. Our Twilight (5:27)
03. Forlorn Waves (4:39)
04. Flicker (6:42)
05. The Leer (4:56)
06. The Ritual Of Dawn (6:34)
07. Ere All Perish (5:54)
08. Cold Earth Chamber (5:34)
09. Deserted Morrows (6:50)

BARREN EARTH will play its second concert ever on February 18, 2010 at Nosturi in Helsinki, Finland as the support act for FINNTROLL.

BARREN EARTH' debut four-song EP, "Our Twilight", was released on November 9, 2009 in Europe and November 17, 2009 in North America via Peaceville Records. According to a press release, the EP "opens with the title track, a fine exploration of brooding doom metal and prog sensibilities. Following this is 'Jewel', an exclusive bonus track taken from the album recording session from summer 2009. The second half of the EP comprises of two tracks, the epic 'The Flame of Serenity' and 'Floodred' — recorded in the summer of 2008 and specially remixed for this release by Dan Swanö (KATATONIA, OPETH, NOVEMBRE) at Unisound, who also provides additional keyboard parts on 'The Flame of Serenity'."
Check out the "Our Twilight" mini-site at this location.

The artwork was created by Niklas Sundin of Cabin Fever Media (ARCH ENEMY, SOILWORK, DARK TRANQUILITY).

BARREN EARTH made its live debut on November 19 at Dante's Highlight in Helsinki. The band played "Our Twilight" in its entirety plus most of the material from the upcoming debut album.

Fan-filmed video footage of the performance can be viewed below.

Formed in the fall of 2007, BARREN EARTH's music "combines elements of modern and traditional (death) metal with '70s prog rock and folk," according to the group's official bio. "Among the band's influences are artists like PARADISE LOST, OPETH, PINK FLOYD, JETHRO TULL and also some pioneers of Finnish prog. The members' individual backgrounds in many internationally known and acclaimed outfits is a testament to the quality of the band's music. These same backgrounds are obviously also echoed in BARREN EARTH's music."


Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN, EMPYREAN BANE) - Vocals
Janne Perttilä (RYTMIHÄIRIÖ, MOONSORROW session) - Guitar
Sami Yli-Sirniö (KREATOR, WALTARI) - Guitar
Olli-Pekka Laine (MANNHAI, CHAOSBREED, ex-AMORPHIS) - Bass
Kasper Mårtenson (VENHO) - Keyboards
Marko Tarvonen (MOONSORROW) – Drums

For more information, visit the band's MySpace page.

Live on November 19 at Dante's Highlight in Helsinki:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email