BEATEN TO DEATH: New 'At Rockefeller' DVD Preview Clip Posted Online

October 5, 2012

Norwegian grindcore metallers BEATEN TO DEATH, who feature in their ranks members of INSENSE, SHE SAID DESTROY and TSJUDER, will release their first official live DVD on October 26 via Mas-Kina Recordings.

Entitled "At Rockefeller", the DVD will include footage of the band's performance at Rockefeller Music Hall in Oslo, Norway on June 17, 2012, as the support act for KILLSWITCH ENGAGE. The setlist sees the band playing all the songs from their acclaimed debut album, "Xes And Strokes", as well as new tracks that will appear on their forthcoming second effort. According to the band, the DVD will include the entire show, unedited and uncut, so that fans can experience the raw energy of BEATEN TO DEATH's live performance.

Commented guitarist Tommy Hjelm: "The only rule we have is that we're not going to follow the set trends. So the idea to make a live album came up and we figured, why not? Record the whole thing from beginning to end, without brushing out all the mistakes? Why not? With new songs not yet released? Why not? And really! Why not? We are so tired of the perfect-pitch, soulless stuff that overruns the market these days. This is the exact opposite of that. It's gritty, dirty, it follows no metronome, it hides no evidence and it abides by no rules. The mixing should reflect that, and I think it does."

BEATEN TO DEATH's setlist for the Rockfeller show was as follows:

01. Intro
02. Pointless Testament
03. Winston Churchill
04. On Running
05. Vinni Butterfly
06. Soulless Alarm
07. Krepsekamp
08. 3-2-1, It's On
09. Obliteration Of Nekromantheon
10. Cat Olympics
11. A Word To The Wise
12. Groundhog Day
13. Xes And Strokes
14. Erik Og Skrik

The "3-2-1, It's On" performance clip, taken from the "At Rockefeller" DVD, can be seen below.

In addition, an audio version of "At Rockefeller" will also available for download via Spotify, iTunes, Bandcamp, WiMP, etc.

BEATEN TO DEATH is working on its as-yet-untitled second album, due later this year.

On the topic of the musical direction of the new CD, bassist Mika Martinussen said: "We already have, like, 15 songs, but the next album will probably be more or less just as short and intense as the last one. It looks like the songs will be more varied on this release than on 'Xes', with weird ideas, stronger elements of other genres than grind/death metal, more melodic stuff, arrangements that are both simpler and more complex."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).