BENEDICTION, KATAKLYSM, HYPOCRISY, Others Featured On 'Death... Is Just The Beginning MMXVII' Compilation

BENEDICTION, KATAKLYSM, HYPOCRISY, Others Featured On 'Death... Is Just The Beginning MMXVII' Compilation

The legendary death metal compilation "Death... Is Just The Beginning" is back!

Nuclear Blast's involvement with death metal harkens back to the late '80s and early '90s explosion of this heavy and deadly genre. The "Death... Is Just The Beginning" compilations paved the way to the introduction of many soon-to-become-legendary acts such as PUNGENT STENCH, DISMEMBER, HYPOCRISY and KATAKLYSM. While the scene suffered a bit of stagnation somewhere in the mid-to-late '90s, the genre as a whole never went away and Nuclear Blast continued to release quality death metal in the form of bands such as HYPOCRISY, KATAKLYSM, DECAPITATED, etc.

…And just like the undead, they always come back! Nuclear Blast is proud to announce the unearthing of this legendary series simply titled "MMXVIII". Highlights for this latest installment include some re-recordings of classic tracks, Nuclear Blast bands performing covers of classic songs from other Nuclear Blast artists, demos and rarities of previously released and unreleased songs, original cover artwork by Blake Armstrong and layout by Marcelo Vasco (SLAYER, HATEBREED, KREATOR).

"Death... Is Just The Beginning MMXVII" track listing:

01. BENEDICTION - Tear Off These Fucking Wings (unreleased demo of new song)
02. KATAKLYSM - The Awakener (re-recorded)
03. HYPOCRISY - They Lie (THE EXPLOITED cover)
04. THE SPIRIT - Illuminate The Night Sky
05. MEMORIAM - The War Rages On (demo)
06. INSIDIOUS DISEASE - Soul Excavation (unreleased new song)
07. POSSESSED - Abandoned (unreleased demo of new song)
08. THY ART IS MURDER - The Son Of Misery
09. IMMOLATION - Morbid Visions (feat. Max Cavalera) (SEPULTURA cover)
10. NAILED TO OBSCURITY - King Delusion (unreleased new song)
11. BLEEDING GODS - Beloved By Artemis
12. DECAPITATED - Sane (Meshuggah cover)
13. AENIMUS - Before The Eons (unreleased new song)
14. PARADISE LOST - Frozen Illusion (previously released Japanese only b-side)
15. CARCASS - A Wraith In The Apparatus
16. BRUJERIA - Viva Presidente Trump! (previously only available digitally and on vinyl)

"Death… Is Just The Beginning MMXVII" will be available as a CD jewel, limited cassette, colored vinyl, long sleeve shirt, T-shirt + CD bundle and mail-order edition boxset. Pre-order the compilation here.


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).