BILLY CORGAN Releases Video For 'The Spaniards' Solo Song

September 29, 2017

SMASHING PUMPKINS frontman Billy Corgan has shared "The Spaniards", the second track off his forthcoming Rick Rubin-produced solo album, "Ogilala". The ethereal song is available now at all digital retailers.

"Ogilala" is due for release on October 13 via BMG and is available for pre-order now. Fans who pre-order the album will receive instant downloads of "The Spaniards" and previously released track "Aeronaut".

Corgan also shared an accompanying music video for "The Spaniards", which can be seen below. Directed by longtime collaborator Linda Strawberry, the clip is comprised of scenes from Corgan's recently announced silent film set to the music of "Ogilala", "Pillbox". Inspired by a hero's journey, "Pillbox" was written by Corgan, and directed by Corgan alongside Strawberry. The film will premiere next month with four sold-out screenings in London, Los Angeles, Chicago, and New York.

This Sunday, Corgan will debut new material from "Ogilala" at a special live performance for Berlin Live. Fans around the globe can tune in to a live stream of the performance on October 1 at 7:00 p.m. CET here.

Corgan announced "Ogilala" last month and shared its striking first track "Aeronaut". Recorded at Shangri La studios in Malibu, "Ogilala" presents Corgan's distinctive vocals and melodies across a sparse, but rich palette of acoustic guitar, piano, and strings.

"Ogilala" track listing:

01. Zowie
02. Processional
03. The Spaniards
04. Aeronaut
05. The Long Goodbye
06. Half-Life Of An Autodidact
07. Amarinthe
08. Antietam
09. Mandaryne
10. Shiloh
11. Archer

This fall, Corgan will embark on a solo acoustic North American tour that kicks off on October 14 in Brooklyn, New York and wraps up on November 11 in Los Angeles, California with a three-night stint at the Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever Cemetery. These intimate performances will see Corgan perform songs from "Ogilala", as well as a second set which will span works from his earliest days through his years as the frontman of THE SMASHING PUMPKINS and beyond.

Photo credit: Alpha Pan

Find more on Smashing pumpkins
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email