BLACK CROWES Guitarist RICH ROBINSON To Release 'Flux' Solo Album In June

May 3, 2016

On June 24, Eagle Rock Entertainment will unveil "Flux", the brand new studio album from celebrated BLACK CROWES founding member/guitarist Rich Robinson.

This is the moment 2016 has been building up towards: throughout the year, Eagle Rock Entertainment has released expanded, re-imagined versions of Robinson's solo albums, including "Paper", "Through A Crooked Sun" and "Woodstock Sessions" (on CD and digitally).These reissues served as a fitting lead-up to "Flux".

With "Flux", Robinson presents his most accomplished solo album to date — 13 new, original songs that draw deeply on his diverse roots. A blues-rock odyssey straight from Robinson's soul, the guitarist returned to Applehead Studios in Saugerties, New York, the recording facility that has become his creative hub. Nestled away within Woodstock's famed artist enclave, Robinson's work at the studio has yielded "Woodstock Sessions", "The Ceaseless Sight" and now "Flux". The entire writing and recording process, explains Robinson, is the driving force for his creativity. "I love being in the recording studio," states Robinson simply. "It fuels the desire to create within me. I enjoy watching it unfold. Each development fires another idea and in the end, you have this organically created song that seemingly came out of nowhere. It brings me such joy and peace. It never ceases to amaze me."

"Flux" showcases a rich variety of tempos, tones, and guitar tuning, ranging from the vibrant swagger Robinson first popularized with the BLACK CROWES to the rich, evocative allure evident in songs such as "Sleepwalker" and "Ides Of Nowhere". "These were great examples of songs transforming from little ideas I originally had," he says. "Both just came alive when I had the band with me in the studio. They weren't anything like what I had first envisioned. It was exciting to experience that process."

Robinson's creative process within the recording studio shaped such standout "Flux" tracks as "Music That Will Lift Me", the album's first single. "I am always excited by the creation itself," Robinson explains. "I used the studio to specifically write that song. I had these parts written but it started to unfold once I got to Applehead Studios. I later wrote the lyrics in Nashville and it had really evolved into something special." Brimming with redemptive spirit, Robinson's vocal and guitar work shine throughout. Joining him on the track is Charlie Starr of BLACKBERRY SMOKE, who lends guitar alongside Robinson's own.

Backed by musicians Matt Slocum (keys),Marco Benevento (keys),Danny Mitchell (keys),Zak Gabbard (bass),Joe Magistro (drums / percussion) and vocalists John Hogg and Danielia Cotton, Robinson transports the listener with a powerful collection of music. From the groove-laden feel of opener "The Upstairs Land", the kick of funk via "Shipwreck", and the gospel swell of "Everything's Alright", to the emotional build-up of "Life" and the hearty stomp of closing track "Sleepwalker", "Flux" ebbs and flows through moods, delivering a varied listener experience.

A creative soul through and through, Robinson is not only presenting "Flux" this year, but his artwork was recently displayed at both Morrison Hotel Gallery in New York City and Truth North Gallery in Canada. In May and June, Robinson will serve as a special guest guitarist for BAD COMPANY. Robinson and BAD COMPANY lead vocalist Paul Rodgers recently met and collaborated on a tribute to Jimmy Page. Rodgers was so impressed with Robinson that he asked him to take part in this special BAD COMPANY U.S. tour. Robinson will also embark on an extensive U.S. solo tour kicking off in July. Additionally, he recently collaborated with Zac Brown on his new album and is also featured on "The Way Home" — the final track of producer David Cobb's concept album "Southern Family" — with gospel choir the Settles Connection.

"Flux" track listing:

01. The Upstairs Land
02. Shipwreck
03. Music That Will Lift Me
04. Everything's Alright
05. Eclipse The Night
06. Life
07. Ides Of Nowhere
08. Time To Leave
09. Astral
10. For To Give
11. Which Way Your Wind Blows
12. Surrender
13. Sleepwalker


Find more on The black crowes
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).