BLACK SABBATH Announces 'Supersonic Years - The Seventies Singles Box Set'

April 12, 2018

Despite a run of legendary hit singles in the 1970s, BLACK SABBATH and the seven-inch single format didn't always sit well together. After the release of their debut single, "Evil Woman", in 1970, followed by their ultimate explosive chart success with "Paranoid", the band was not comfortable with the confines of the mainstream pop format and the audience it brought to the group, leading to their now-legendary self-imposed ban on releasing singles in the early '70s.

"We didn't intend to make a single in the first place," said Tony Iommi to the Disc And Music Echo in 1971. "But after we'd completed the album, the 'Paranoid' track was sufficiently short to be a 'trailer' for the LP. We really didn't expect it to do anything at all. We don't go into the studio to make singles. We make LPs only. But if there is anything suitable as a result of the recordings, it would be considered, of course."

BLACK SABBATH's music was vast, expansive and heavy; not the kind of vision that can be easily shackled to the three-minute pop format. Record Mirror ran a story in November of 1970 stating that "SABBATH have decided to place a 'ban' on singles in the future. Their hit, 'Paranoid', as far as they are concerned is their first and last single. They will also oppose any attempt to draw singles material from future albums."

BLACK SABBATH's 'ban' on singles in their own country lasted for more than two years, and good to their word, no singles were issued from 1971's "Master Of Reality", but in 1972, as a harbinger from fourth LP, "Vol 4", "Tomorrow's Dream" was issued as a 45 and from then on a steady run of singles followed that showed that, despite SABBATH's initial dislike, many of their songs did lend themselves well to the format.

"Supersonic Years - The Seventies Singles Box Set", released June 8 through BMG, documents the band's run of hit singles as never before and features an array of unique content.

* This limited-edition box set includes five rare single edits: Iron Man / Sabbath Bloody Sabbath / Am I Going Insane (Radio) / Hard Road / Symptom Of The Universe.
* 10 unique color picture sleeves from around the world, either ultra-rare or exclusive to this box set.
* Remastered by renowned engineer Andy Pearce.
* New liner notes booklet detailing the rarities contained within the box set, along with the story behind the birth and evolution of the most culturally important genre of all time.

The box set features the following singles:

Disc 1: Evil Woman (Don't Play Your Games With Me) / Wicked World - 1970

Disc 2: Paranoid / The Wizard - 1970

Disc 3: Iron Man (Single Edit) / Electric Funeral - 1970

Disc 4: Tomorrow's Dream / Laguna Sunrise - 1972

Disc 5: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Edited Version) / Changes - 1973

Disc 6: Am I Going Insane (Radio) (Single Edit) / Hole In The Sky - 1975

Disc 7: Gypsy / She's Gone - 1976

Disc 8: It's Alright / Rock 'N' Roll Doctor - 1976

Disc 9: Never Say Die / She's Gone - 1978

Disc 10: Hard Road (Single Edit) / Symptom Of The Universe (German Single Edit) - 1978

Pre-order "Supersonic Years - The Seventies Singles Box Set"here.

Find more on Black sabbath
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).