BLACK SABBATH Teams Up With SECRET 7" To Release 100 Copies Of 'Age Of Reason' Single

January 29, 2014

BLACK SABBATH is teaming up with Secret 7" to release 100 copies of an "Age Of Reason" seven-inch single in aid of War Child, a family of independent humanitarian organizations which work together to help children and young people affected by armed conflict.

Secret 7" returns for 2014 with seven more iconic acts and seven iconic songs from the past 33 years.

The heavy hitting lineup includes BLACK SABBATH; Brit- and NME-award-nominated Jake Bugg; Mercury Prize-winning Elbow; Grammy-nominated, Billboard-topping Lorde; Brit-winning trip-hop originators MASSIVE ATTACK, pop-music-defining ROXY MUSIC and T.REX with one of their 14 top 20 singles.

The full track list for 2014 is as follows:

* BLACK SABBATH - Age Of Reason
* JAKE BUGG - Strange Creatures
* ELBOW - Grounds For Divorce
* LORDE - Team
* MASSIVE ATTACK - Karmacoma
* ROXY MUSIC - Virginia Plain
* T.REX - Get It On

The announcement of this year's artists and tracks coincides with the opening of the project's submissions process for creatives across the world. The selected work will feature in an exhibition and sale of 700 one-of-a-kind records at Downstairs at Mother.

All 700 sleeves will be exhibited on April 12 and April 13. On Record Store Day, April 19, visitors are able to purchase the unique vinyl sleeves for £45. However, none of the buyers will know who created the sleeve, or even which song it's for, until they have parted with their cash — the secret lies inside.

Those wanting to design a sleeve need to head to the Secret 7' web site, Closing dates for entries is February 19.

In 2013, the project counted Ai Weiwei, Gilbert & George and David Shrigley amongst the hundreds of artwork contributors. A queue began forming over 24 hours in advance of the sale, which sold out in just a few hours. In two years, Secret 7" has raised £63,670 for good causes.


(Thanks: NJthrasher)

Find more on Black sabbath
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).