BULLET To Release 'Down And Out' Single

December 21, 2010

Swedish metallers BULLET will release a new single, "Down And Out", on Christmas Eve (December 24). The song comes off the band's third full-length album, "Highway Pirates", which will be made available on February 4, 2011. It will be issued on CD, LP and strictly limited-edition vinyl that will only will be available through the Sound Pollution mailorder.

On July 31 2009, BULLET drummer Gustav Hjortsjö was hanging around backstage at the Sävsjö Festival. Suddenly he noticed a familiar face in the crowd: SAXON's legendary singer Peter "Biff" Byford. Gustav was determined not to let this chance go missed. He approached Byford and explained that the singer just had to do a guest appearance on BULLET's next album. "Maybe," Byford replied. "What's the name of the album?" Gustav had no idea. BULLET was still touring in support of the "Bite The Bullet" CD and hadn't really thought a whole lot about the follow-up release. "But which song do you want me to appear on then?" Biff continued. In a state of panic, Gustav mumbled the first reasonably rock and roll-orientated title he could come up with: "Highway Pirates". A month later they met again, at the Skogsröjet Festival in Reijmyre. About 40 seconds into the brilliant hard-hitting title track, you can now hear Biff Byford's contribution: a wolf whistle.

BULLET is up for a new experience with the release of its third album. It is the first time the band has to live up to people's high expectations. This, however, is a natural consequence of the success that came with the group's previous effort, "Bite The Bullet". The album peaked at position No. 3 on the Swedish chart and was followed by a number of live appearances, including a support-act slot with AC/DC at the sold-out Ullevi stadium in Gothenburg.

"Highway Pirates" was mixed by Tobias Lindell, who has previously worked with such Swedish rock bands as EUROPE, MUSTASCH and HARDCORE SUPERSTAR. Their combined efforts have "succeeded in creating a sound that is retro and modern at the same time," according to a press release. "Hampus Klang's and Erik Ahlström's guitar sound is incredibly pure."

"Highway Pirates" track listing:

01. Highway Pirates
02. Back On The Road
03. Stay Wild
04. Blood Run Hot
05. Fire And Dynamite
06. Down And Out
07. Knuckleduster
08. Heavy Metal Dynamite
09. Citylights
10. Into The Night

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).