BUSH Frontman On Releasing 'The Kingdom' During Coronavirus Pandemic: 'We're Either Gonna Look Really Smart Or Really Dumb'

May 31, 2020

BUSH frontman Gavin Rossdale spoke to Minneapolis, Minnesota's 93X radio station about the the band's decision to release its new studio album, "The Kingdom", this summer, despite the fact that much of the music industry is shut down due to the coronavirus pandemic that is sweeping the globe.

Gavin said (hear audio below): "I think that we're either gonna look really smart or really dumb. We're really something. It's a good step. We're at the 'really 'point of life.

"When I did an Instagram Live, I asked people that like [BUSH's] records and like my band, 'Please write me. Let me know. Is this a good thing? Are you happy we're bringing a record out in July?' Because marketing-wise, it's a nightmare. Strategically, for a label; strategically, for people, it's not a good idea, if you can't support it in a regular way. But everyone was, like, 'No, no, no.' And I think [it's good to release] something new for people to dive into, so we're gonna try and come up with some ideas and try and bridge the gap between now and when the record comes out and when we play."

Asked if it's exciting to be releasing a new album as the follow-up to 2017's "Black And White Rainbows", Gavin said: "It's very exciting. The thing about it is we've all moved into this different stage of our lives where everything is quite insular. We're all quarantining, whether it's with a couple of people… I have a couple of people that come in and out [that] I have interactions with that work with me and help me, so every now and again, this and that, a couple of times a week, so I'm not living on my own, but I am living on my own. So we all have these little sanctuaries, and we fill them with the music we love or the films we love — whatever it is. So to add new toy for people to play with, a new car for people to whiz around and run, I'm happy to be that."

"The Kingdom" will be released on July 17 via Zuma Rock Records under exclusive license to BMG Rights Management.

The first single from "The Kingdom", "Flowers On A Grave", was unveiled in March. The track, co-produced by Erik Ron and Rossdale, is the follow-up to "Bullet Holes", heard atop the end credits to "John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum". Produced by Tyler Bates, "Bullet Holes" will also be featured on "The Kingdom".

"The Kingdom" track listing:

01. Flowers On A Grave
02. The Kingdom
03. Bullet Holes
04. Slaves
05. Blood River
06. Quicksand
07. Send In The Clowns
08. Undone
09. Our Time Will Come
10. Crossroads
11. Words Are Not Impediments
12. Falling Away

BUSH's last effort, 2017's "Black And White Rainbows", was crafted after Rossdale went through a divorce with pop star/reality TV judge Gwen Stefani in 2015.

BUSH's current lineup also includes guitarist Chris Traynor, bassist Corey Britz and drummer Nik Hughes.

The group, which broke up in 2002 but reunited in 2010, has released three albums since reforming.

Find more on Bush
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).