Canada's CAVEAT To Release 'Red' Next Week

May 22, 2007

Western Canada's progressive metallers CAVEAT will release their new album, "Red", on June 1 via Cyclone Records. The seven-song opus is CAVEAT's "third and most elaborate album to date, showcasing their steady writing and musical growth over 2006 which has resulted in a much more focused collection of songs delivering both a heavier and more technical approach to the songwriting," according to a press release.

After the success of 2005's self titled EP, which was rated by Beatroute magazine as one of 2005's top Calgary releases, CAVEAT — comprised of lead vocalist/guitarist Greg Musgrave, lead guitarist Joe Sikorski, bassist/vocalist Terry Baldwin and drummer Casey Rogers — has assembled "a collection of multi-layered musical complexity that breaks all rules of conventionality, while still maintaining the key elements that have gained CAVEAT their broad audience across Canada over the last five years."

"Red" track listing:

01. Red
02. Sin
03. M.O.B.
04. Vindication
05. Vicious Circle
06. My Messiah
07. Within This Weakness

CAVEAT was founded by Greg Musgrave (ex-TOKE, STONEWATER, now also in BLACKSKY and EXIT STRATEGY) on guitar and vocals, and bassist/vocalist Terry Baldwin (ex-CRYPTOMNESIA, VERBAL DECEPTION),with drummer Casey Rogers (ex-STONEWATER, SELF CONTROL, now also in BLACKSKY and EXIT STRATEGY) and guitarist Joe Sikorski (ex-THORAZINE, now also in BLACKSKY and EXIT STRATEGY). In 2005, the newly cemented lineup produced a professional, self-titled five-song EP, featuring 26 minutes of accessible, progressive metal that combines both aggressive death/black metal vocals and three-part harmonies with funk-influenced bass lines and punishing thrash-metal guitar riffs.

For more infrmation, visit

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).