CARL PALMER Announces 'Fanfare For The Common Man' Deluxe Career-Spanning 3-CD/1-Blu-Ray Box Set

February 15, 2024

BMG has set an April 5 release date for the "Fanfare For The Common Man" deluxe career-spanning three-CD-and-one-Blu-ray box set from Carl Palmer.

Carl Frederik Kendall Palmer was born on March 20, 1950 in Birmingham, England. His upbringing was far from smooth, his real father passed away when Carl was only two years old. Raised by his step father in a very music minded family, Carl Palmer received his first drum on his 10th birthday and thus began a 60-year career that has seen Carl appear on a staggering 50-million-selling albums.

Now, BMG is proud to bring together Carl's impressive career across a box set featuring music and visuals from the CARL PALMER BAND, EMERSON, LAKE & PALMER, ASIA and various other Carl Palmer-affiliated bands and artists, among them CRAIG, Chris Farlowe, ATOMIC ROOSTER and Mike Oldfield. The Blu-ray disc "The Rhythm Of Life" is an audio-visual documentary, narrated by Carl Palmer with live and exclusive behind-the-scenes footage featuring ELP, ASIA, CRAZY WORLD OF ARTHUR BROWN, CARL PALMER BAND and ELP LEGACY. Also included is a 200-page autobiography which is wonderfully illustrated with photos from Carl's personal archive.

Growing up in 1960s Birmingham to a soundtrack of Elvis Presley, Gene Krupa, Dave Brubeck and Buddy Rich, it was a really innovative and exciting time for young Carl. He joined his first band THE KING BEES when he was just 15 and, after renaming themselves CRAIG, Carl got his first taste of chart success with the explosive freakbeat single "I Must Be Mad" which thankfully appears in this collection. From that point on, Carl never looked back and after stints with CHRIS FARLOWE AND THE THUNDERBIRDS, THE CRAZY WORLD OF ARTHUR BROWN, ATOMIC ROOSTER, which Carl founded with Vincent Crane, in 1970 he joined forces with the NICE's Keith Emerson and KING CRIMSON's Greg Lake and ELP were born. ELP ruled the 1970s with classic albums such as "Tarkus" and "Works", but the trio stopped working together in 1979. Carl then went on to form yet another supergroup, this time joining forces with Steve Howe and Geoff Downes of YES alongside KING CRIMSON's John Wetton to form ASIA. ASIA scored big with huge-selling tunes such as "Heat Of The Moment" that ruled the FM airwaves and the then-newly launched MTV.

After his success with ASIA, Carl reunited with Keith Emerson and with vocalist Robert Berry under the name 3 and two of their songs, "Desda La Vida" and a prog-pop version of THE BYRDS' psychedelic classic "Eight Miles High" also appear in this collection. In 1992, ELP reunited for three albums and several tours before making their final live appearance at the 2010 High Voltage festival held in front of 30,000 adoring fans in London's Victoria Park.

Between 2001 and 2021, Carl Palmer has played in his own trio with Paul Bielatowicz on guitar and Simon Fitzpatrick on bass/Chapman stick. Under the name ELP LEGACY they have continued to reinvent the ground-breaking work of ELP which features throughout Disc 3.

Carl Palmer is currently on tour in the USA with the acclaimed "Return Of Emerson Lake & Palmer" show, which combines rare footage of Keith Emerson and Greg Lake from ELP's 1992 Royal Albert Hall shows with Palmer and his LEGACY band live on stage all playing together.

As Carl Palmer approaches his 74th birthday, he shows no sign of resting on his laurels. Aside from all his ELP-related work, Carl continues to make innovative art through his Carl Palmer "Art Of Giving" foundation, raising large sums of money for charity in the process.

Box set track listing:

CD1: Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Carl Palmer & Joseph Horovitz

01. Carl Palmer & Joseph Horovitz - Concerto For Percussion (Part Rock)
02. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - The Enemy God Dances With The Black Spirits
03. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Bullfrog
04. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Toccata
05. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Close But Not Touching
06. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - LA Nights
07. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Canario
08. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Tank
09. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Karn Evil 9 1st Impression, Part 2
10. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Two Part Invention In D Minor
11. Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Fanfare For The Common Man

CD2: Carl Palmer various other band recordings

01. Craig - I Must Be Mad
02. Craig - Suspense
03. Chris Farlowe - Everyone Makes A Mistake
04. Atomic Rooster - Friday The 13th
05. Atomic Rooster - Decline And Fall
06. Carl Palmer's PM - You've Got Me Rockin'
07. Mike Oldfield - Mount Teidi
08. Mike Oldfield - Ready Mix
09. Asia - Heat Of The Moment
10. Asia - Wildest Dreams
11. Asia - Time Again
12. Asia - Tomorrow The World
13. 3 - Desda La Vida (I. La Vista, II. Frontera, III. Sangre De Toro)
14. 3 - Eight Miles High
15. Carl Palmer and the Buddy Rich Orchestra – Shawnee (Live)

CD3: Carl Palmer Band ‘Working Live' & Carl Palmer's ELP Legacy ‘Live'

01. Carl Palmer Band - Carl Palmer Band - Bullfrog
02. Carl Palmer Band - Canario
03. Carl Palmer Band - Carmina Burana
04. Carl Palmer Band - Trilogy
05. Carl Palmer Band - Hoedown
06. Carl Palmer Band - Carl Palmer Band - Romeo And Juliet
07. Carl Palmer Band - In A Moroccan Market
08. Carl Palmer's ELP Legacy - Toccata and Fugue in D minor
09. Carl Palmer's ELP Legacy - Jerusalem
10. Carl Palmer's ELP Legacy - Fanfare For The Common Man / Drum Solo

Disc 4: Blu-ray video "The Rhythm Of Life"

Carl Palmer discusses his career featuring exclusive behind-the-scenes footage and images featuring Frank Sinatra, Carmine Appice, Buddy Rich, Tony Iommi, Alice Cooper and more.

Find more on Asia
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).