CATHEDRAL: New Album Title Announced

October 28, 2009

Veteran British doom/stoner band CATHEDRAL will enter Chapel studios (THE DARKNESS, NAPALM DEATH, URIAH HEEP, WET WET WET, SIMPLE MINDS) in Lincolnshire, U.K. in November to record its ninth full-length album and second for the Nuclear Blast label. Entitled "The Guessing Game", the new CD will once again be produced by Warren Riker (DOWN, CROWBAR) and sport stunning new artwork from band collaborator Dave Patchett. Songtitles set to appear on the CD (among others) include:

* Journeys Into Jade
* The Casket Chasers
* Funeral Of Dreams
* Death Of An Anarchist
* La Noche Del Buque Maldito (a.k.a. Ghost Ship Of The Blind Dead)
* Open Mind Surgery

"The Guessing Game" is scheduled for a March/April 2010 release.

Earlier in the year, Night Of The Vinyl Dead Records released CATHEDRAL's "Caravan Beyond Redemption" album on limited-edition double splatter vinyl with a gatefold cover. The LP, which was originally released by Earache in 1998, is limited to 500 copies.

CATHEDRAL's latest LP, "The Garden of Unearthly Delights", was released in Europe in October 2005 and in North America in January 2006. Produced by Riker, the follow-up to 2002's "The VIIth Coming" was said to be the band's "most varied effort so far." Using every stylistic device — from female vocals up to violins — and embedding it all in that typical CATHEDRAL brand of doom, "The Garden of Unearthly Delights" was described as "a treat for every fan of the band, old and new alike."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email