CATHEDRAL: 'The Ethereal Mirror' Reissue Details Revealed

May 30, 2009

"The Ethereal Mirror", the classic 1993 album from British doom metal legends CATHEDRAL, will be reissued via Earache Records.

"Ethereal Mirror" was almost as drastic a departure from CATHEDRAL's slow and meloncholic doom-drenched debut, "Forest Of Equilibrium", as was Lee Dorrian fronting CATHEDRAL after playing in NAPALM DEATH!

Featuring fan favorites and MTV video hits "Midnight Mountain" and "Ride", this album ushered in the CATHEDRAL we know and recognize today with their doomy SABBATH-esque riffs mixed with more groove-laden rock!

The set includes a bonus disc capturing the end of CATHEDRAL's proper "doom" period (otherwise known as the "Statik Majik" EP, which despite only being three tracks long, has a total running time of 35 minutes) and a 40-minute DVD documentary that chronicles the development of the band and the subsequent success of "The Ethereal Mirror" (which led to a major label deal with Columbia Records) as well as an interview with longtime artwork collaborator Dave Patchett.

Track listing:

01. Violet Vortex (Intro)
02. Ride
03. Enter the Worms
04. Midnight Mountain
05. Fountain of Innocence
06. Grim Luxuria
07. Jaded Entity
08. Ashes You Leave
09. Phantasmagoria
10. Imprisoned in Flesh

Bonus disc:

01. Hypnos 164
02. Cosmic Funeral
03. The Voyage of the Homeless Sapien

* Tracks taken from the "Statik Majik" EP

DVD Side:

"Ethereal Reflections", a 40-minute brand new documentary with key original band members, filmed in Coventry in 2009, and also featuring interviews with infamous cover artist Dave Patchett. It is an in-depth exploration of the formation of CATHEDRAL, the recording of "The Ethereal Mirror" and the growth of the band from humble beginnings to a major label deal.


01. Musical Progression
02. A Major Deal
03. Manor Studio
04. The Artwork
05. Tension Rising
06. Fashion Sense
07. Disco Doom
08. Exit Adam
09. Where Are You Now?
10. Reflections

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email