CATHEDRAL: Two-Disc Compilation Due In July

May 26, 2004

Earache Records will be issuing a two-CD collection of greatest hits and rarities from U.K. doomsters CATHEDRAL on July 27. Titled "The Serpent's Gold", the set will document CATHEDRAL's entire Earache period, with 27 tracks in total, clocking in at over 2 ½ hours. Disc 1 ("The Serpent’s Treasure") contains all of the band's greatest moments from the Earache releases, fully remastered for a crushingly heavy and crystally clear listening experience. Disc 2 ("The Serpent’s Chest") features three previously unreleased songs plus two unreleased live tracks. The disc also offers up rare demo recordings and some unusual re-workings of CATHEDRAL classics.

CATHEDRAL fans will instantly recognize the cover art for "The Serpent's Gold" as being the work of longtime CATHEDRAL collaborator Dave Patchett. The liner notes contain in-depth interviews with frontman Lee Dorrian and guitarist Gaz Jennings housed in a booklet featuring exclusive images and material from the band's own archives.

"The Serpent's Gold" track listing:

Disc 1 - The Serpent's Treasure:

01. Ride
02. Hopkins (Witchfinder General)
03. Autumn Twilight
04. Midnight Mountain
05. Soul Sacrifice
06. Enter the Worms
07. Stained Glass Horizon
08. Vampire Sun
09. Cosmic Funeral
10. Ebony Tears
11. Melancholy Emperor
12. Equilibrium
13. Utopian Blaster
14. Voodoo Fire
15. Imprisoned In Flesh

Disc 2 - The Serpent's Chest:

01. Hide and Seek
02. Neophytes for Serpent Eve (demo)
03. Violet Breath
04. Night of the Seagulls (demo)
05. Magic Mountain
06. A Funeral Request (live) (featuring Victor Griffin/Joe
of PENTAGRAM and Scott Carlson of REPULSION)
07. The Olde Oak Tree
08. Schizoid Puppeteer
09. Carnival Bizarre (demo)
10. Rabies (WITCHFINDER GENERAL cover)
11. Blue Light (live)
12. Commiserating the Celebration (of Life) (demo)

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).