CLUTCH Guitarist's DEEP SWELL To Release Debut Album Next Month

September 19, 2013

DEEP SWELL, the Shepherdstown, West Virginia-based band featuring CLUTCH guitarist Tim Sult, will release its debut album, "Lore Of The Angler", on on October 15 via CLUTCH's record label, Weathermaker Music.

With a powerful female lead vocalist and precise rhythmic force, DEEP SWELL's sound is a mix of riff-based rock, funk-tinged psychedelia and mysterious poetic lyrics.

Years of friendship and mutual appreciation for each other's talents brought Sult into collaboration with drummer Jesse Shultzaberger and bassist Logan Kilmer. Shultzaberger is a versatile drummer who currently tours with the Americana band THE WOODSHEDDERS. Kilmer, who honed his technique and methods with NOETIC PULL, plays five-string with a smooth funky bass style to the depth of which helped spawn the band's name.

At the beginning of 2012 they met Briena Pearl and invited her to join the trio. Pearl, a lifelong student of voice, theater, and dance, quickly proved the sheer force of her talent as a singer and songwriter, thus establishing an instant chemistry with the band and a clear direction for their emerging sound. With this final addition in place DEEP SWELL's dynamic sound was forged.

Sult commented on being a part of DEEP SWELL and the new release: "I'm very excited about working with another group of talented artists and I'm looking forward to introducing the new project to the world."

In February 2013, DEEP SWELL recorded "Lore Of The Angler" at Magpie Cage Recording Studio in Baltimore, Maryland. Three months later, they were signed to Weathermaker Music, with the label overseeing distribution, touring and publicity for the album starting this fall.

DEEP SWELL has scheduled a handful of dates in supporting of "Lore Of The Angler", including a CD-release party on October 19 in Shepherdstown at Opera House Live. Following that show, the band will out through October 23, with LIONIZE providing support.

"Lore Of The Angler" track listing:

01. Shows Off
02. You're Not Sleeping
03. Criminal Reward
04. Hilltop
05. By Woah
06. Cry Wolf
07. White Coat
08. Thinking
09. Green Eyes
10. Small Girl Learn


Find more on Clutch
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).