CONSTANCIA To Release 'Lost And Gone' In July

May 5, 2009

Frontiers Records has set a July 3 European release date (August 11 in the U.S.) for CONSTANCIA's debut album, entitled "Lost and Gone".

CONSTANCIA started out as the brainchild of former SCUDIERO/TOKEN keyboard player Mikael Rosengren. He had written a bunch of songs that were just screaming to be completed, recorded and released. He got in touch with Janne Stark (OVERDRIVE, LOCOMOTIVE BREATH, ZELLO) asking him to lay down some guitars on the demos. Janne loved the songs and got even more involved in the guitar arrangements. Thus the seed of CONSTANCIA was planted.

"I've always been a fan of the pompish-side of melodic hard rock and bands like CITY BOY, STYX and TRILLION as well as the real heavy stuff," says Janne. "I instantly felt these songs could be the perfect marriage between the melodic rock, some progressive moments and an aggressive touch added to it. That's when I came to think of the style description: melogressive metal."

The next person to join the band was drummer Peter Svensson, who had previously played with Janne both in LOCOMOTIVE BREATH and MOUNTAIN OF POWER. Mikael then recruited JADED HEART bass player Michael Mueller, whom he met when their respective bands shared a label. After trying out several vocalists, Janne enlisted ANDROMEDA's David Fremberg who had also appeared on Stark's MOUNTAIN OF POWER album.

"It was really interesting to see it merge together and like a small weed slowly rise and break through the asphalt to finally blossom when all the pieces came together," says Janne.

The band tried using different engineers to mix the album, such as Beau Hill, Pontus Norgren, Pontus Lindmark and Pelle Saether, but it was Fredrik Folkare (UNLEASHED, ECLIPSE, SIEBENBÜRGEN) who was eventually chosen to mix and co-produce the effort. "He found the essence of what we were after: the marriage between the melodic side and the heaviness," explains Mikael. The mastering duties were handled by Dennis Ward (PINK CREAM 69, SUNSTORM, PLACE VENDOME).

"Lost And Gone" track listing:

01. Fallen Hero
02. Troublemaker: Blind
03. Little Big You
04. The King Is Calling
05. Dying By Your Flames
06. Save Me
07. No One Like You
08. Life Is A Mystery
09. I Never Said Goodbye
10. Wish I Could Fly

Check out audio samples at this location.

One song from CONSTANCIA will appear on the Sweden Rock Festival sampler CD which will be distributed for free to all the fans attending the event.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).