February 8, 2017

WEAR YOUR WOUNDS has unveiled the first music video off its eponymous debut album. The clip, which was directed by Max Moore, can be seen below.

Founded by CONVERGE's Jacob Bannon, WEAR YOUR WOUNDS is the product of years of lo-fi solo recordings that have sat on the backburner until now.

Bannon commented on the track and video: "The song is about the psychological effects of negative experiences and ultimately not allowing them to define who you are and wish to be. I feel that most people can likely relate to that message in some way. The video is a recreation of the album cover and other visuals in the album. The character creates a ladder to ascend to the sky. Looking for answers, hoping for a metaphorical confrontation in some way. The character also wears a mirror, being a literal reflection of the world that surrounds."

"Wear Your Wounds" will be released on April 7 via Deathwish. Joining Bannon on the effort are guest musicians Kurt Ballou (CONVERGE),Mike McKenzie (THE RED CHORD, STOMACH EARTH, UNRAVELLER),Chris Maggio (SLEIGH BELLS, TRAP THEM, COLISEUM) and Sean Martin (HATEBREED, CAGE, KID CUDI, TWITCHING TONGUES). The album is comprised of ten emotionally heavy songs that call to the slower, more epic leanings of CONVERGE, as well as Bannon's previous work in SUPERMACHINER. WEAR YOUR WOUNDS brings to mind the dense multi-layered approach of SWANS and early PINK FLOYD, while being as vulnerable as influences SPARKLEHORSE, SONGS: OHIA and other like-minded artists.

WEAR YOUR WOUNDS will debut in a live setting on April 22 at the Roadburn festival in Tilburg, The Netherlands as part of John Dyer Baizley's curation. Joining Bannon on stage will be musicians Mike McKenzie, Chris Maggio, Adam McGrath (CAVE IN, ZOZOBRA, NOMAD STONES) and Sean Martin.

"Wear Your Wounds" track listing:

01. Wear Your Wounds
02. Giving Up
03. Iron Rose
04. Hard Road to Heaven
05. Best Cry of Your Life
06. Breaking Point
07. Shine
08. Fog
09. Heavy Blood
10. Goodbye Old Friend


Find more on Converge
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).