CROSSFAITH Frontman On Upcoming 'Xeno' Album: 'It Is The Most Important And Precious Thing To Us'

July 18, 2015

Japanese rockers CROSSFAITH will release their new studio album, "Xeno", on September 18 in North America via Razor & Tie.

The official lyric video for the CD's title track can be streamed below.

"Xeno" has a story of hope, failure, love, betrayal and death woven into its fabric so skillfully it's impossible to tell where truth ends and fiction begins. It's both an escape from and examination of reality that reveals more and more truths the further it delves.

Produced by Josh Wilbur (AVENGED SEVENFOLD, LAMB OF GOD, HATEBREED) and mastered by Ted Jensen, "Xeno" takes the groundwork laid by 2013's "Apocalyze" and 2012's "Zion" EP as well as the band's vast touring history and catapults them into a whole new league.

"Xeno" is an artistic endeavour like few others, with roots in manga, anime and the furthest reaches of its creators' minds. Frontman Kenta "Ken" Koie, guitarist Kazuki Takemura, bassist Hiroki "Hiro" Ikegawa, keyboardist Terufumi "Teru" Tamano and drummer Tatsuya Amano are, quite simply, operating on a different level.

Ken explains: "This record is dedicated to everyone because we believe it will make a new phase in this music culture. We had a bad time after we released the last album, 'Apocalyze'. Our original guitarist Kazuki had to leave during a tour due to a cerebral hemorrhage. It was the worst thing to happen to us in our entire music career. Fortunately or unfortunately, it just affected his left hand. He is still alive, he never gave up as a musician and he wrote a couple songs for this record as well. It has bound us together as one."

He continues: "The experience of working with Josh Wilbur means a lot to us. He brought us fresh feelings and has helped us to create our best record to date. We put everything we've got into 'Xeno' and it is the most important and precious thing to us. We can't wait to share the experience of 'Xeno'. It is beating, it is alive! We are dedicating this record to everyone!"

Xeno is a character, two to be exact. This is an intricate story of artificial intelligence meets human desperation. The two combine to see the human Xeno, so distraught with the state of the world that he endeavours to bring creation through devastation.

"Everyone has a dark side," says Ken. "Everybody is so hypocritical. And everything — our world – is being completely fucked up by so many people, especially the government. It's easy to see what they do. So Xeno, the person, decides to do something big so he can hit reset and start again."

CROSSFAITH is currently touring North America on the full Vans Warped Tour and will be announcing more tour dates soon. The band will tour the U.K. later this year as main support to SKINDRED.

"Xeno" track listing:

01. System X
02. Xeno
03. Raise Your Voice
04. Devil's Party
05. Ghost In The Mirror (feat. Caleb Shomo from BEARTOOTH)
06. Dystopia
07. Wildfire (feat. Benji Webbe from SKINDRED)
08. Tears Fall
09. Paint It Black
10. Vanguard
11. Calm The Storm
12. Astral Heaven


Find more on Crossfaith
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).