CULT OF LUNA To Release 'Vertikal II' In September

August 13, 2013

Indie Recordings has set a September 21 release date (September 24 in Germany, Austria and Norway) for "Vertikal II" from Sweden's CULT OF LUNA. The four-track effort contains over 36 minutes of music.

"'Vertikal II' is the continuation of our journey into the harshness of the monotone city landscape," commented CULT OF LUNA's Johannes Persson. "The songs were written during the 'Vertikal' session and we always intended them to be released close to the album. Justin Broadrick's (GODFLESH) remix was not a part of the original plan but since it came out phenomenally good we thought that it would fit perfectly as closer of the whole 'Vertikal' project. With 'Vertikal II', we complete and end a chapter that, for the last few years, has been a big part of our lives. Now we leave the inner city and look up into the vast void above."

"Vertikal" marked a much-anticipated return for CULT OF LUNA after five years spent cultivating the ideas and directing the influences that have helped form a concept for the album. Distilled throughout are themes of machinery, repetition and clear, linear structures honed to the visual imagery of Fritz Lang's classic expressionist science-fiction film "Metropolis". The music broods, builds and boils as you may expect from CULT OF LUNA, but never overcomplicates itself or veers from its intentions; it is arguably their finest and most cohesive piece of work to date.

The CD version of "Vertikal II" comes in a limited digipak, with three new songs plus a remix of "Vacarious Redemption" by Justin K. Broadrick. The total running time is over 36 minutes.

"Vertikal II" CD track listing:

01. Oro
02. Light Chaser
03. Shun The Mask
04. Vicarious Redemption (remix by Justin K. Broadrick)

The vinyl version is limited to 1000 copies with die-cut sleeve, different cover artwork and several different vinyl colors

"Vertikal II" 12" EP/mini-LP track listing:

Side A:

01. Oro
02. Light Chaser

Side B:

01. Shun The Mask

Find more on Cult of luna
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).