CYHRA Feat. Former IN FLAMES, AMARANTHE Members: 'No Halos In Hell' Album Due In November

September 27, 2019

CYHRA, the band featuring vocalist Jake E (ex-AMARANTHE),guitarist Jesper Strömblad (ex-IN FLAMES),guitarist Euge Valovirta (ex-SHINING) and drummer Alex Landenburg (LUCA TURILLI'S RHAPSODY),will release its second album, "No Halos In Hell", on November 15 via Nuclear Blast Records. The follow-up to 2017's "Letters To Myself" was produced by Jacob Hansen and co-produced by Jake E. It is described in a press release as "one of those rare albums that defies being neatly placed in a genre box; coming out heavy and dynamic, the record is loaded with melodic vocal hooks that stay nailed to the brain for days, achieving maximum impact throughout. Fusing a relentless energy and heaviness the best way possible was CYHRA's main focus this time out."

The official music video for the disc's first single, "Out Of My Life", was directed by Swedish mastermind Patric Ullaeus and can be seen below.

"No Halos In Hell" will be available as a two-CD digipak, as well as on black vinyl and download.

Track listing:

01. Out Of My Life
02. No Halos In Hell
03. Battle From Within
04. I Am The One
05. Bye Bye Forever
06. Dreams Gone Wrong
07. Lost In Time
08. Kings Tonight
09. I Had Your Back
10. Blood Brothers
11. Hit Me
12. Man Of Eternal Rain

The bonus CD in the limited digipak features six additional songs, three of which are exclusive acoustic versions.

Last year, Jake told Finland's Tuonela magazine about the songwriting process for CYHRA's next studio album: "It started off that me and Jesper started to sit down and make the foundations of songs. Then Euge came in and had tons of ideas and then we sent it over to Alex. We threw stuff back and forth, so this was a complete band effort this time. Everyone was involved both in musical writing and in lyric writing."

Added Alex: "It was very organic. A lot happened in the studio. This time, the demos were rougher and less detailed than on the first one. The first one, Jake and Jesper had worked out a couple of songs too detailed then you don't have much space anymore to do things. You're just used to what it sounds like. You're more or less trying to do it the same way in the studio. This time, it was very organic and a lot of collaboration in the studio. It was great."

Said Euge: "We wrote songs in the studio. It was really inspiring because we were all there at the same time because the first album was done. I write guitars in my own studio, but we were all there and living there together, so it was 24/7 together for the four weeks, so there was a lot inspiration."

Continued Jake: "I don't get how we did it the last time. The first album, Alex recorded the drums in Gothenburg together with the guitars and then we switched studios for the bass to a complete other studio in Sweden. Then I flew to New York to do the vocals. Then Euge did his parts in Riga, then we mixed in Denmark. It was the biggest fucking puzzle last time. This time, we decided that we're going to go to one place."

Regarding how CYHRA's sound progressed on its forthcoming second album, Jake said: "We found our sound with the first album. We knew already what kind of music we wanted to play and how we wanted it to sound. Of course, two albums will sound differently, but not to the [extent] that they will be over here [holds hands wide apart]."

Added Alex: "We have a sound. It's clearly the same band. It changed and evolved, but I think it's mostly Euge having a bigger part in the writing and the playing of the album and having the mindset of having two guitars on the album. So, naturally, it's more riff-oriented, more guitar-oriented than the first one. That is probably the biggest difference."

Asked what fans can expect from CYHRA's next studio album, Jake said: "[It will have] a little bit more live-oriented songs. We figured out that not a lot of the songs, but some of the songs on the first album didn't end up being that 'party' — if we can call them a little bit party poopers live, because they're great to listen to in general, but when you have a live set, it's hard. Usually when you release one album, you just get a couple of shows, and then you release a couple of more albums and your career takes off. We were fortunate enough to have our career take off pretty fast, and then we have to play the whole album, all the songs, because we don't have any other songs. But now with the new album, there's some songs that are faster and harder."

Added Euge: "It's a bit more guitar-oriented, like riff-oriented. There's more of those twin-guitar harmonized melodies and riffing than on the first album, but there's still stuff that has nice orchestrated stuff, so it's an evolution from the first album."

Said Alex: "In many aspects. The drums are more diverse than the first album just because on the first record as a band you have to find your sound and test the waters and see how far you can take things, what fits the band and I think all of us got an idea about how the band sounds when we started touring more and playing more. Then you realize, 'Okay, this is something I can do in this band and it works.' Then, on the second record, you can go a little more for that. But, the most obvious thing is the more guitars. More is more."

CYHRA made its live debut in October 2017 at Nosturi in Helsinki, Finland.

In early 2018, CYHRA completed a successful North American tour opening for SABATON and KREATOR.

CYHRA's European tour with new labelmates BATTLE BEAST will kick off in Sweden on November 15.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).