CYNIC To Release 'Traced In Air Remixed'

CYNIC To Release 'Traced In Air Remixed'

CYNIC has announced the re-release of its sophomore effort, 2008's "Traced In Air". "Traced In Air Remixed" features new tracking by virtuoso bassist Sean Malone, a vibrant new mix by PERIPHERY's Adam "Nolly" Getgood (ANIMALS AS LEADERS, DEVIN TOWNSEND, HAKEN) as well as mastering done by Ermin Hamidovic. The album is slated for release on September 27.

To get a taste of the new offering in comparison of the original 2008 version, check out the special made video below.

CYNIC frontman Paul Masvidal comments: "'Traced In Air' has been brought up to date for 2019 — a remix where something less means a little more. CYNIC has always been about forging paths rather than building walls."

The artwork for "Traced In Air Remixed" was created by Robert Venosa.

Track listing:

01. Nunc Fluens (2:57)
02. The Space For This (5:47)
03. Evolutionary Sleeper (3:36)
04. Integral Birth (3:45)
05. The Unknown Guest (4:09)
06. Adam's Murmur (3:29)
07. King Of Those Who Know (6:08)
08. Nunc Stans (4:14)

In 2008, after a 15-year hiatus, CYNIC re-emerged with "Traced In Air". An album of sublime beauty, it blended their renowned musical prowess with splendor and grace, putting forth forward-thinking riffing fused with the rhythmical intricacy of jazz and the melodic complexity of progressive metal.

CYNIC was formed in 1987 during the burgeoning rise of death metal in Miami, Florida before relocating to Los Angeles, California. The impressive technical abilities of the band's founding members even caught the attention of DEATH's Chuck Schuldiner, who recruited Masividal and Sean Reinert, which led to the inception of the 1991 landmark album "Human". During the band's career that spans over three decades, they have garnered a cult following and unyielding praise from critics for shaping the prog metal genre with their impressive creativity. "Traced In Air Remixed" is no exception to this, only further lending to CYNIC's undisputed legacy.

"Traced In Air" recording lineup:

Paul Masvidal: Vocals, Guitar, Guitar Synth
Sean Reinert: Drums, Percussion
Sean Malone: Bass, Stick
Tymon Kruidenier: Guitar

Current lineup:

Paul Masvidal: Vocals, Guitar, Guitar Synth
Sean Malone: Bass, Stick
Matt Lynch: Drums, Percussion


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).